We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Situated just a short walk from where the Inter-City coach drops you off and very close to the beach. Well fitted out, comfortable bed, plenty of space in the room. Well appointed bathroom and kitchenette. Ideal for staying a few nights. The let down was the WiFi, you're given an access code which doesn't last more than an hour on an iPhone, I had to keep going back asking for another code. Laundry room never seems to be used in the evening, if you have washing to do, aim for after 5pm. Seating area outside each room with bench seating for dining al fresco. Not at all bad.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr Iain M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for Captain Cook Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 87 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

Typical motel layout in a not too pretty part of town, but spacious and well equipped with a good-size kitchen. The staff at reception were super-friendly, which was just as well because the wifi is a bit of a nightmare! Operated on a voucher basis with a cap on downloads, it was constantly running out which meant many trips to reception to get another one.
The restaurant is very good, and we can recommend the dinner which was beautifully cooked, with very large helpings, and very reasonably priced.
No other real comments, except there's a lot of traffic on the move in the morning which can get noisy, and many residents are workers who also start early. Also it was a more expensive night than some other motels/hotels in NZ, but you get what you pay for, so I can recommend to other travellers.

Room Tip: All seem pretty much the same, all face the car park and allows the car to be put right outside the...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John080347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainCML, Manager at Captain Cook Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Hi John.
Thank you for your positive thoughts on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed the facilities and your meal at our onsite Navigator restaurant. The team here work very hard to ensure everyone enjoys their stay. Our FREE Wi-Fi is capped, as it is in many other accommodation providers in New Zealand. This capping is in place to protect us the provider of any breaches of the New Zealand copyright laws. Unfortunately as in many things, a few ruin it for others. We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in our great country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Everything you'd expect from a classic Kiwi motel - a friendly face at reception, spacious rooms that you can drive right up to, and great value. The Captain Cook is kept spotlessly clean, to rooms are a very generous size, and the onsite restaurant makes life easy. The continental breakfast buffet is particularly good value. It's also nice and quiet. The motel that is. Not the breakfast. Not to say the breakfast was noisy. I digress.
One niggle? Finding the various TV channels available took a lot of figuring out - some were on the analogue band, some on the digital, and not mention was made of this in the TV how-to. Slightly annoying,but if that's all I have to whinge about they're doing well!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentandMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

captain cook is a average motel. This is a motel that is a good stay for working people who don't mind a bit of noise it has pently of parking and ok size rooms. There is a large depo type place right behind the motel that is quiet at night and a busy road out the front. Rooms were very clean and tidy. flat screen TV that took alittle time to work out how to use them. Nice good size beds and a fairly large bathroom that had windows that opened out to the people outside in the next room felt like i was been watched in the bathroom.The office staff were nice enough but didn't go out of there way to make us welcome. There is a good park across the road and it is not to far to town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toddys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Captain Cook Motor Lodge is a fairly routine motel in a fairly routine place. The standard rooms are large and clean with a decent bed and bathroom with spa bath. The downside is no heating/air con in these rooms, which can make them uncomfortable in the warmer months. The road outside has a lot of lorries and noise can carry from the port, which could be annoying for the light sleeper as the doors and windows don't really insulate sound that well.
The location doesn't seem great when you get there, but you can walk into the centre easily and quickly (if you wanted to).
The motel does have a restaurant unusually (was filled with highway maintenance crew when I was there)

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MayesTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Second time staying here, and would stay again.

Overall sentiment the same as my previous review, it's good and located well, but nothing makes it stand out as great.

Giving it 4/5 this time 1) as a continental breakfast came as a free extra, 2) it was the best deal I could find in Gisborne for a motel especially one located close enough to city centre, 3) there is a 2 seater couch in the room, 4) quite a good selection of TV channels including 2 Sky movies 2 Sky sports and a couple of other Sky channels along with various free-to-air channels including Sommet Sports.

On the downside as mentioned in my previous review there's no aircon, only a ceiling fan and if you're not a warm/hot weather person you're going to need it on the top setting which makes a little bit of noise of course. There's only 3 quite small openable windows and one of those is in the bedroom, so not much chance of a natural cross-breeze unless it's quite a windy day.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed here this week and would be very happy to recommend, especially for travellers on a budget. From the warm welcome at reception to the eco-friendly toiletries, everything was just great. The room was spotlessly clean and well equipped.Although a motel, I could hear nothing through the walls (a first!) and apart from some road noise in the morning, it was very quiet. The beach is just across the road and Gisborne's shops and restaurants are a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ruthzmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0.5 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#12 of 26 in Gisborne
276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
#11 of 26 in Gisborne
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 26 in Gisborne
198 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
#5 of 26 in Gisborne
172 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 26 in Gisborne
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Cook Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Cook Motor Lodge

Address: 31 Awapuni Road | Waikanae Beach, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range: $77 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain Cook Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Captain Cook Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing