We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem in Gisborne”
Review of Emerald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emerald Hotel
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Reviewed July 20, 2010

This was a great hotel experience. The apartment we had was huge with beautiful views across the river. It was very well equipped and we wanted for nothing. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location was excellent, right in the centre of Gisborne and even better above a good pub, which we Aussies love!. The pub is a good place to meet up with people for drinks and or dinner when you are there on business, one thing the Portside and hotels in that area are missing.
All up a terrific place to stay. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moo628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 281 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2010

This was the most enjoyable stay we have ever had anywhere! We did the stay, dinner and breakfast deal for $195 - the room was great, the location is right in town, the food was fantastic - an amazing buffet breakfast, excellent value for what you get and the staff were brilliant! We would definately go back to the Emerald Hotel even though we live in Tauranga but it is really worth it for a great stay. Didn't get a chance to try out the spa pool but it looks great and maybe next time - there will definately be a next time! And next time we will stay longer to have a look around Gisborne as it was raining (highly unusual) on the day we left! We have highly recommended it to friends and family who are keen to try it out too! Thanks Emerald Hotel for the best stay ever!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FANTASTICTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

The Emerald rooms were 3-4 times the size of most other Hotel/Apartment rooms

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAYLEBAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

We found this hotel to be very affordable and conveniant ,the reason being we were in gisborn for a wedding and the reception was at the emerald hotel.the staff were very friendly ,room very spacious and tidy excellent decor and the pool and spa topped it of for the children.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaranakiMila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We did not get off to the best of starts. We checked in at the front desk, were given our key cards and were told how to get to the entrance of the adjoining parking building and open the gate.

We found that neither of our cards would open the gate.

Back at reception, the receptionist checked our cards, told us they were fine and to try again.

Back at the entrance to the parking building our cards would still not work. By this time another party had arrived and their cards did not work either. One of them called the receptionist and he came around in person and let us in.

He stayed with us to see if our cards would let us into the hotel, they didn't. Then he checked to see if our cards would let us into our room, they didn't.

He let us into our room and returned with new cards for us less than ten minutes later and there were no further dramas after that.

The room, actually is was a suite - I think that they all are in this hotel; was modern, large and comfortable. The bedroom was internal to the building so did not have a window. This meant the room was dark and peaceful and I got the best night's sleep I have had in ages.

The only thing that I think could have improved the room would have been the addition of a safe for valuables. That aside, we were happy with our stay. It was very comfortable and the hotel is in a great location in central Gisborne.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonnySLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

just got back from a two night stay at this hotel; and have to say we were very impressed; the room was like a mini apartment, with a separate bedroom as well as a bed in the lounge and a big balcony overlooking the swimming pool, which was very nice. Two tv's and airco units, very comfortable. The hotel was hard to find, driving round the block we saw the carpark entrance and knew it had to be close, they are working on better signage.
I also like a morning paper without having to ask for it. Very central location, close to shops, bars and restaurants and great value for money, considering the size and standard of the room. Also free internet in lobby.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doublexposure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

The Emerald is a lovely hotel. My room was spacious (with a separate bedroom!), and was clean and comfortable.

I only had two minor issues. First, the bathroom was fitted with facilities for a person with limited mobility. Instead of a bath, there was a shower with a flip-down seat. It felt like a hospital bathroom, and didn't fit with the style and luxury of the rest of the room. (Though I'm sure a bathroom like this would be welcome by a disabled or eldery person.)

Secondly, I kept getting phone calls from the restaurant asking me if I'd like to dine there or get room service. Then I had a flyer shoved under my door advertising the restaurant. In the end, I just stopped answering the phone. It had become intrusive.

But those two issues aside, I would absolutely recommend the Emerald. It's a great location in downtown Gisborne, close to the gorgeous river, sea and main street. The pool seemed really popular with families staying there, and the staff were helpful and friendly.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
Thank Passager2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0.3 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
0 mi away
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
#8 of 26 in Gisborne
74 reviews
0.5 mi away
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
#9 of 26 in Gisborne
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 26 in Gisborne
200 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
#5 of 26 in Gisborne
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Senator Motor Inn
Senator Motor Inn
#1 of 26 in Gisborne
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Hotel

Address: 13 Gladstone Road | PO Box 2143, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Gisborne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Gisborne
Price Range: $98 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Emerald Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of beautiful sunny Gisborne you'll find the very welcoming Emerald Hotel & Conference Centre. It's a hotel that offers all the benefits of boutique accommodation right in the midst of the city centre, and is the Gisborne's first fully-integrated hotel and conference facility. Spacious rooms overlook stunning vistas across the inner harbour through to the historic Kaiti Hill, to the surrounding hills, across beautiful rivers and, from the executive apartments, out to Young Nick's Head. It's the perfect place to host conferences, meetings, weddings and gatherings. As a full service hotel guests don't even need to leave the hotel for anything, although it is close to other cafes, restaurants, shops and city attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emerald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Hotel Gisborne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing