We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommend this hotel if visiting Gisborne” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emerald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emerald Hotel
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Gisborne
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend this hotel if visiting Gisborne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

What a great experience we had here. We were welcomed by the manager who spontaneously upgraded our room. He was helpful giving us all the local information we needed and went out of his way to accommodate us.
The next delight was the room. It was spacious and light with a balcony that overlooked the pool. It was quiet and away for traffic noise. As we live in the countryside and not use to traffic noise this was really appreciated
The location was perfect. Close to everything. We were able to walk to restaurants, the river, beach and shops and enjoyed spending the evening exploring. We were only 5minutes walk from the Saturdays Farmers Market. Great coffee,fresh fruit and veges as well as oil, wine, cheese and bread as well as great music.
The staff were extremely professional, helpful and polite.
As you can see we were impressed with our accommodation and will definitely book again if we return to Gisbourne
Thanks. Anna and Peter

Room Tip: Room away from traffic but with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    92
    41
    15
    4
See reviews for
53
91
8
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

First time to be welcomed into a hotel by a lovely group from the local marae! We were well catered for with good food, excellent rooms with 2 bedrooms, large bathroom and plenty of places to relax either outside on the balcony or in the main room. Only draw-back was 1 of the bedrooms was internal with no windows which made it very dark.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the corner are quieter. Trucks pass day and night. Those looking into the centre of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

The rooms at the quality hotel emerald are gigantic! There is everything you would need here including couches, a dining room table, a bed (in a seperate room) and a LARGE bathroom. This was a very comfortable stay with excellent service.

If you're not feeling like room service, or hotel food, make a quick trip across the road for Burger Wisconsin!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

The rooms, the layout, the staff....this is a must stop. A reasonable price for luxury. If you are in Gisbone, enjoy a spacious room for under 150 per night. My eyes popped when I walked into the room. Great choice

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Pancake2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stay in Quality Hotel for two days in my Trip to Gisborne, Hotel is nice and clean and not too expensive, Rooms are spacious and have nice balcony to sit and enjoy great view of river front. The front desk is very helpful and polite. As the hotel is located in the center of City, hence all places can easily assess by short walk. we can find all kinds of restaurant nearby only. overall great hotel and good value of money.

Room Tip: Choose first floor room with river front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashok_patel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Booked through easytobook.com which was very easy to book, a good price, in central town, close to places to eat and close to the waterfront. The room on the third floor had a view of the central kidney shaped pool. Convenient off street parking throughout the day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a 2 bedroom suite and 3 one bedroom suites and they were all lovely, clean and well appointed. We got a bargain for the price we paid so very happy. The service desk were very helpful considering I changed our booking several times. This hotel is just metres from an irish pub which has great meals as does the Hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delysc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0.3 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
2.0 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#1 of 27 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
#6 of 27 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Senator Motor Inn
Senator Motor Inn
#2 of 27 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ahi Kaa
Ahi Kaa
#8 of 27 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.5 mi away
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
#10 of 27 in Gisborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Hotel

Property: Emerald Hotel
Address: 13 Gladstone Road | PO Box 2143, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Gisborne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Gisborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Emerald Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of beautiful sunny Gisborne you'll find the very welcoming Emerald Hotel & Conference Centre. It's a hotel that offers all the benefits of boutique accommodation right in the midst of the city centre, and is the Gisborne's first fully-integrated hotel and conference facility. Spacious rooms overlook stunning vistas across the inner harbour through to the historic Kaiti Hill, to the surrounding hills, across beautiful rivers and, from the executive apartments, out to Young Nick's Head. It's the perfect place to host conferences, meetings, weddings and gatherings. As a full service hotel guests don't even need to leave the hotel for anything, although it is close to other cafes, restaurants, shops and city attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Emerald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Hotel Gisborne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing