We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Emerald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emerald Hotel
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Very modern & clean hotel. Computer to use in hotel foyer if you do not bring your own. Breakfast was not exciting, but edible. Rooms are lovely & the private locked car park is a welcome bonus. Statue of Captain Cook & one of young Nick the lookout who first spotted land.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scouserinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 285 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

I was unlucky enough to stay on a weekend night and had the joy of being kept awake until gone 3 by the nightclub right next door. It was so loud I could name the songs! Then there are the drunk partiers shouting and screeching too.
My mum complained to the man on reception and was basically told that's how it is. No offer of help.
In the morning the female reception staff (who are lovely and do a great job, in fact they seem to do everything!) handled my complaint well and the duty manager was polite too. Understandably not their fault but as a known issue they should not put customers in that unpleasant situation.
The pool is nice and the spa upstairs was great. Breakfast pancakes were yummy and the waitress was lovely.
My scores are based on the fact we got a discount and complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenbellycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Well like the other reviewers, I was amazed at the size of my room. It was like a spacious apartment, and the bathroom was equally spacious. Everything was tidy, new, and very top quality. I hear Germans built it...perhaps that explains the attention to functional quality...sort of a BMW/Mercedes smoothness to it all. The even provide a coffee-press and the coffe provided to use tasted great! The bed was very comfy, and I had a balcony/lanai that was very spacious with a wonderful patio table and four chairs overlooking the beautiful pool area. This lodging far surpassed the $130 per/night expectations. Really nice place...and right in the downtown centre...plenty of dining options nearby. I recommend highly...you will not be disappointed.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank GratefulMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

The Emerald was our first chain hotel in a while and we were surprised how big the room was. The service was good and the location perfect. Gisborne is a dead on Saturdays although we had fun in the wine centre on walking distance from the hotel. The call at 10.02 am to let us know that we needed to leave was a bit irritating.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jollenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

we stayed here for 2 nights, had a room overlooking the river, bed was uncomfy and pillows flat, the bathroom floor had bits all over it and needed a good vacuum. although the room was spacious, needs a good makeover

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kilgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed at the Emerald for two nights on business. The rooms are spacious, air conditioned and reasonably well maintained. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of several restaurants.

The proximity to restaurants was fortunate, because the in-house restaurant was closed due to “low occupancy levels”, something I didn’t find out until I tried unsuccessfully to order room service. Since this hotel doesn’t provide any kitchen facilities except an electric jug, I was obliged to go out of the hotel for dinner. The Emerald makes a big deal in its advertising about having an in-house restaurant, but that advertising doesn’t mention that it might randomly be closed without notice.

Avoid the rooms in the new wing of the hotel overlooking Gladstone Rd. My first night there I was given a room overlooking the intersection of Gladstone Rd and Customhouse St. This intersection is used by heavy trucks turning onto the bridge across the river at intervals of one every few minutes. All night. Literally. There has been no attempt to sound-proof the windows on this side of the hotel. Add to this an electrical switchbox in the room which gave off a continuous hum, and “sleep” that night consisted of brief, fitful naps between passing trucks. This is the worst night I have ever spent in a hotel (or a motel for that matter).

The next morning I asked at Reception to be moved to a room without road noise. They moved me to a room overlooking the pool courtyard... and charged me an extra $10. In this instance, customer satisfaction didn’t seem to be much of a priority for the Emerald.

If you stay at the Emerald, pay the extra $10 and ask for a room overlooking the pool. These are nice and have a large balcony with table and chairs. Really good air conditioning. Unfortunately the beds at the Emerald are that scourge of chain hotels: split kings (or, as those of us outside the hospitality industry call them, two single beds pushed together). These are never going to be comfortable.

One of the more bizarre features of the Emerald is the monitored minibar. If you take something out of the refrigerator it is electronically recorded and charged to your account, whether you use it or not. This means that you can’t clear space in the fridge for your own stuff. Yes, there is a space for guest use, but if you want to store anything much bigger than a single can of beer you’re out of luck. I can’t help wondering how many people have been caught out by this and charged for stuff they didn’t actually use. There is a warning in the compendium, but a warning sticker on the fridge itself would be more useful – nobody checks the compendium to see if the fridge is booby trapped.

Overall, so long as you avoid the road frontage rooms the Emerald is a pleasant enough stay. There is free secure car parking, the rooms with balconies are very nice, and the hotel is located close to restaurants. The receptionist on the afternoon shift is very pleasant and helpful. On the negative side is the noisy road frontage, being charged extra to move from an untenable room, the unannounced closure of the restaurant, no space in the fridge, and the not particularly comfortable beds. The Emerald is fine for a short stay. I wouldn’t recommend it for more than a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in the new wing overlooking Gladstone Road. The rooms overlooking the pool courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our family, which consists of 2 teenage boys, stayed recently for a week in an extremely spacious, superbly well equipped apartment (including a washing machine/dryer - fabulous not having to traipse down hallways to do the laundry or go to a laundrette like other hotels!) The rooms had a lovely river outlook, and the deck overlooked the swimming pool - fabulous for mum and dad to enjoy a wine whilst keeping an eye on the kids and watching the gorgeous Gisborne sunsets!

The kitchen was better than my own 3 year old kitchen and was a pleasure to prepare meals in for hungry young men! My only criticism is the large dinner plates didn't fit the dishdrawers properly and had to be layed awkwardly,however there were smaller plates that were perfectly adequate for meals.

The spa and swimming pool were used constantly which was a wonderful diversion, however the size of the apartment meant we were never falling over one another anyway! (especially as each bedroom has their own TV).

The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and efficient. The location was perfect for popping out and procuring a morning latte, going for a run along the beach and walking distance to fabulous cafes and restaurants.

Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiskie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0.3 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
0 mi away
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
#7 of 26 in Gisborne
77 reviews
0.5 mi away
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
#9 of 26 in Gisborne
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 26 in Gisborne
201 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
#5 of 26 in Gisborne
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Senator Motor Inn
Senator Motor Inn
#1 of 26 in Gisborne
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Hotel

Address: 13 Gladstone Road | PO Box 2143, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Gisborne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Gisborne
Price Range: $111 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Emerald Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of beautiful sunny Gisborne you'll find the very welcoming Emerald Hotel & Conference Centre. It's a hotel that offers all the benefits of boutique accommodation right in the midst of the city centre, and is the Gisborne's first fully-integrated hotel and conference facility. Spacious rooms overlook stunning vistas across the inner harbour through to the historic Kaiti Hill, to the surrounding hills, across beautiful rivers and, from the executive apartments, out to Young Nick's Head. It's the perfect place to host conferences, meetings, weddings and gatherings. As a full service hotel guests don't even need to leave the hotel for anything, although it is close to other cafes, restaurants, shops and city attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Emerald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Hotel Gisborne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing