We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room...great price...super staff”
Review of Emerald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Emerald Hotel
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great room...great price...super staff”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Well like the other reviewers, I was amazed at the size of my room. It was like a spacious apartment, and the bathroom was equally spacious. Everything was tidy, new, and very top quality. I hear Germans built it...perhaps that explains the attention to functional quality...sort of a BMW/Mercedes smoothness to it all. The even provide a coffee-press and the coffe provided to use tasted great! The bed was very comfy, and I had a balcony/lanai that was very spacious with a wonderful patio table and four chairs overlooking the beautiful pool area. This lodging far surpassed the $130 per/night expectations. Really nice place...and right in the downtown centre...plenty of dining options nearby. I recommend highly...you will not be disappointed.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank GratefulMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    96
    43
    16
    5
See reviews for
55
93
8
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, Holland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

The Emerald was our first chain hotel in a while and we were surprised how big the room was. The service was good and the location perfect. Gisborne is a dead on Saturdays although we had fun in the wine centre on walking distance from the hotel. The call at 10.02 am to let us know that we needed to leave was a bit irritating.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jollenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

we stayed here for 2 nights, had a room overlooking the river, bed was uncomfy and pillows flat, the bathroom floor had bits all over it and needed a good vacuum. although the room was spacious, needs a good makeover

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed at the Emerald for two nights on business. The rooms are spacious, air conditioned and reasonably well maintained. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of several restaurants.

The proximity to restaurants was fortunate, because the in-house restaurant was closed due to “low occupancy levels”, something I didn’t find out until I tried unsuccessfully to order room service. Since this hotel doesn’t provide any kitchen facilities except an electric jug, I was obliged to go out of the hotel for dinner. The Emerald makes a big deal in its advertising about having an in-house restaurant, but that advertising doesn’t mention that it might randomly be closed without notice.

Avoid the rooms in the new wing of the hotel overlooking Gladstone Rd. My first night there I was given a room overlooking the intersection of Gladstone Rd and Customhouse St. This intersection is used by heavy trucks turning onto the bridge across the river at intervals of one every few minutes. All night. Literally. There has been no attempt to sound-proof the windows on this side of the hotel. Add to this an electrical switchbox in the room which gave off a continuous hum, and “sleep” that night consisted of brief, fitful naps between passing trucks. This is the worst night I have ever spent in a hotel (or a motel for that matter).

The next morning I asked at Reception to be moved to a room without road noise. They moved me to a room overlooking the pool courtyard... and charged me an extra $10. In this instance, customer satisfaction didn’t seem to be much of a priority for the Emerald.

If you stay at the Emerald, pay the extra $10 and ask for a room overlooking the pool. These are nice and have a large balcony with table and chairs. Really good air conditioning. Unfortunately the beds at the Emerald are that scourge of chain hotels: split kings (or, as those of us outside the hospitality industry call them, two single beds pushed together). These are never going to be comfortable.

One of the more bizarre features of the Emerald is the monitored minibar. If you take something out of the refrigerator it is electronically recorded and charged to your account, whether you use it or not. This means that you can’t clear space in the fridge for your own stuff. Yes, there is a space for guest use, but if you want to store anything much bigger than a single can of beer you’re out of luck. I can’t help wondering how many people have been caught out by this and charged for stuff they didn’t actually use. There is a warning in the compendium, but a warning sticker on the fridge itself would be more useful – nobody checks the compendium to see if the fridge is booby trapped.

Overall, so long as you avoid the road frontage rooms the Emerald is a pleasant enough stay. There is free secure car parking, the rooms with balconies are very nice, and the hotel is located close to restaurants. The receptionist on the afternoon shift is very pleasant and helpful. On the negative side is the noisy road frontage, being charged extra to move from an untenable room, the unannounced closure of the restaurant, no space in the fridge, and the not particularly comfortable beds. The Emerald is fine for a short stay. I wouldn’t recommend it for more than a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in the new wing overlooking Gladstone Road. The rooms overlooking the pool courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our family, which consists of 2 teenage boys, stayed recently for a week in an extremely spacious, superbly well equipped apartment (including a washing machine/dryer - fabulous not having to traipse down hallways to do the laundry or go to a laundrette like other hotels!) The rooms had a lovely river outlook, and the deck overlooked the swimming pool - fabulous for mum and dad to enjoy a wine whilst keeping an eye on the kids and watching the gorgeous Gisborne sunsets!

The kitchen was better than my own 3 year old kitchen and was a pleasure to prepare meals in for hungry young men! My only criticism is the large dinner plates didn't fit the dishdrawers properly and had to be layed awkwardly,however there were smaller plates that were perfectly adequate for meals.

The spa and swimming pool were used constantly which was a wonderful diversion, however the size of the apartment meant we were never falling over one another anyway! (especially as each bedroom has their own TV).

The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and efficient. The location was perfect for popping out and procuring a morning latte, going for a run along the beach and walking distance to fabulous cafes and restaurants.

Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiskie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed at thsi hotel for the 3rd time in 12 months. It seems a bit deserted each time I have stayed which is surprising as:
a) the staff are amongst the best I have come across,
b) the rooms are large and well equipped,
c) the room rates are very reasonable,
d) it has free parking in the car park building at the rear,
e) is in the centre of town.
f) did I mention the friendliness of the staff?

Any downside? Some of the machinery supplying AC and the bathrooms seemed to clank and groan in the night.

Room Tip: Get a room with the river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Not really disappointed with the hotel or facilities. Positives first then...great large sized room and very comfortable bed. Furniture was more than adequate and the bathroom clean and spacy. The room fridge had very little room for guests to use being 95% full of minibar items. The usual soaps, conditioners etc have been replaced by large dispensers - perfectly adequate. The staff were very helpful with tips on where to eat and what to do and see. Restaurant staff were also very helpful and attentative. The biggest disappointment was that we booked a river view room, which we got, but the river is mostly obscured by trees and worse, the road outside is actually quite noisy. We were woken by a drunken man shouting his way home on one night and a number of cars and on the second night we were woken in the early hours by the rubbish collection. If the windows had been double glazed this may not have been a problem and even so it is a minor complaint. If we fist again I would book a pool view room facing into the hotel courtyard.

Room Tip: Book a pool view room and not a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redwoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0.3 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
#11 of 26 in Gisborne
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waikanae Beach Motel
Waikanae Beach Motel
#15 of 26 in Gisborne
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 26 in Gisborne
196 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
#5 of 26 in Gisborne
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Senator Motor Inn
Senator Motor Inn
#1 of 26 in Gisborne
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Hotel

Property: Emerald Hotel
Address: 13 Gladstone Road | PO Box 2143, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Gisborne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Gisborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Emerald Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of beautiful sunny Gisborne you'll find the very welcoming Emerald Hotel & Conference Centre. It's a hotel that offers all the benefits of boutique accommodation right in the midst of the city centre, and is the Gisborne's first fully-integrated hotel and conference facility. Spacious rooms overlook stunning vistas across the inner harbour through to the historic Kaiti Hill, to the surrounding hills, across beautiful rivers and, from the executive apartments, out to Young Nick's Head. It's the perfect place to host conferences, meetings, weddings and gatherings. As a full service hotel guests don't even need to leave the hotel for anything, although it is close to other cafes, restaurants, shops and city attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emerald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Hotel Gisborne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing