We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colonial on Gladstone
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Just walked in this Motel by chance. Run by a very friendly and efficient couple. Rooms are clean and tidy. I took the $89 room mostly because it was nicely tucked away from the road. Good value!!! Easy access to town following John's and Jan's directions!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elgreko69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 32 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just walked in without a booking and staff was very welcoming and showed me all the rooms to choose from. Chose the $89 special offer and it was great value. Clean, comfortable, quiet (tucked away from the road)

Room Tip: go for the $89 special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We were pleased to find the motel. We had the back unti so plenty of room and what we needed for an overnight stay. Comfortable bed too. It is at the top end of town so too far to walk to the city but its not too far to hop in the car and enjoy what Gisborne has to offer.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dizy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Comfortable bed in a studio unit, good shower with of plenty water pressure, however goes cold if shower is being used in next unit, clean and tidy but room could do with a freshen up with decor, nowhere to wash our dishes, there was a bowl in the cupboard and a small handbasin in the bathroom.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank donnaharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janice b, Owner at Colonial on Gladstone, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2017

Under bnew ownership since this review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Rang this morning to cancel as unable to stay the night tonight due to my mother being taken into Hutt Hospital (will be in for 2-3 days).
As Rythum & Vines starts today, thought it would be easy to sell again, there are a lot of people still looking for accommodation. Told abruptly NO REFUND POLICY. I mentioned that if they did manage to book it out, would they refund or even refund part of it - told NO REFUND POLICY. Wotif rang them to see if they could help but were told - NO REFUND POLICY. Thanks Colonial - offering to help out if you did manage to sell it again would of been enough.
Rang our accommodation in Napier, Deco City and they were fabulous. Totally understood our situation. We have stayed there before and it was great. NIce welcome, beautiful clean rooms and just a really nice place to stay. We will definitely be staying with them again as we regularly travel through to Gisborne. Highly recommend DECO CITY NAPIER if you are looking for good accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank JustusHutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janice b, Owner at Colonial on Gladstone, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2017

Under new ownership since this report

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We paid for 4 nights on arrival without viewing the room.. What a lesson. There were 3 light bulbs not working (they were eventually replaced), the carpet was heavily stained, wall paper was torn. There was a hole (?kicked) in the bathroom door. It was shabby. The stove was old and there was no microwave. There were flies constantly in the rooms, (we were supplied with spray later in the day). Owner said they were renovating the rooms, but not this one!

Outside appearance was good, and fairly close in to the city. It was quiet.

Advice is to view the room before committing yourself. We escaped each day, all day, and enjoyed many good things about Gisborne, but not this accomodation.

Room Tip: Inspect before committing yourself. Would be vastly improved by renovation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delphiniumnewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janice b, Owner at Colonial on Gladstone, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2017

Under new ownership since this review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Very spacious one bedroom unit. Clean and sunny. Comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Chose a one bedroom unit. Very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith_Liz93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
1.5 mi away
Waikanae Beach Motel
Waikanae Beach Motel
#16 of 26 in Gisborne
44 reviews
0.9 mi away
Teal Motor Lodge
Teal Motor Lodge
#18 of 26 in Gisborne
49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Champers Motor Lodge
Champers Motor Lodge
#11 of 26 in Gisborne
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 26 in Gisborne
205 reviews
1.6 mi away
Waikanae Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.4 mi away
Ahi Kaa
Ahi Kaa
#13 of 26 in Gisborne
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial on Gladstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial on Gladstone

Address: 715 Gladstone Road, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range: $78 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial on Gladstone 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial on Gladstone is a 11 unit Motel, comprising 6 one bedroom units, one with a double spa bath and 5 studio units one with a spa bath. All ground floor units with free on site parking. Outdoor seating area for each unit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Colonial on Gladstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing