We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great experience”
Review of Cedar House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar House
Ranked #9 of 13 Gisborne B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Cedar House in Gisborne is one of the best places we've stayed. Great comfort and luxury, but at a standard motel price. The room we had this time had a large ensuite with spa bath and from the top floor looked out over the river. Being so close to the centre of town meant we could walk around without driving. We also enjoyed the Cedar House spa pool and had a challenge to dip into the main pool and stay under during the middle of winter – well worth it if you have the courage. Would highly recommend Cedar House Bed and Breakfast in Gisborne to anyone travelling through or wanting something special.

Room Tip: The Nikau room is worth the little extra ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarrySoljan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 26 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had a great time here on a winter getaway. The rooms are all massive and luxurious. We had the Nikau room with its own ensuite and spa bath. We felt like we were living in Downton Abbey. Close to the city with nice views of the river.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesKeyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while away for my husbands business. I needed somewhere with free wifi to complete work from the room and this was a great location. We were in the Rimu room, which had a large comfy bed, large tv, large wardrobe and desk. A huge, modern shared bathroom across the hall, which we had to ourselves due to no one being booked in the next room. Spa bath and great shower water pressure. Lovely large kitchen downstairs and small one just down the hall upstairs which had free continental breakfast and hot drinks. A nice place to meet the other friendly guests. Very quiet location, close to amenities.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pandora L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This old house used to be a private school. What a wonderful job John has done in converting it into a well appointed B & B. We were fortunate enough to have one of the top floor ensuite units. A very spacious and beautifally decorated room, just the place after a long winding drive from Napier that day. The view over the city and rivers is magnificent, and it is only a short walk back into town. Breakfast is self service from a very small kitchen and very basic, unfortunately does not sit well with the rest of the house. This aside it was alovely place to stay and would recommend it as a good place to lay your head on a pillow

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DADI2519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

well what can I say this place was like the eagles song hotel california. It was amazing but the owner was even more amazing he just welcomed you in and said make your self at home
then left we even picked our own room.Had a lovely decking area and pool.

close to the shops and sights but for me was the actual place very "do your own thing "

which I like really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Cedar House is a lovely spacious house with some fabulous rooms and would make a great venue for a house party, as some previous TripAdvisor reviews have suggested. However, as a Bed and breakfast venue it did not really work for us. We felt that we were intruding on John's time and space - we hardly saw him and got the impression that guests were low on his priority list. Breakfast was self service and very basic - multipack cereal, milk in the fridge and a loaf of bread for toast, is not what we associate with New Zealand B and B. Comments in the guest book suggested that there have been better times for Cedar House. Let's hope they return, but on present form we could not recommend it and felt rather uncomfortable and happy to be moving on after our second night.

Room Tip: Ask for the room upstairs with the river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcsaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

John is the 'new' Host-Owner, young, engaging and respectful.
Cedar House is a Beautiful 'Home' of the early 1900s with tasteful modern touches that added zing to our stay. We had a delightful 2 nights in this spacious, elegant, comfortable and quiet house.
Do remember to let John know if you have any dietary requirements for the light Continental Breakfast, I'd forgotten and John remidied it without hassle TY

Room Tip: Not telling lol They all looked beautiful 'ours' was the best though lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaqi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0.6 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
1.9 mi away
Colonial on Gladstone
Colonial on Gladstone
#17 of 26 in Gisborne
30 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waikanae Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
75.2 mi away
Hicks Bay Motel Lodge
Hicks Bay Motel Lodge
#24 of 26 in Gisborne
310 reviews
2.1 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 26 in Gisborne
200 reviews
0.8 mi away
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
#11 of 26 in Gisborne
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar House

Address: 4 Clifford Street, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Gisborne
Price Range: $84 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cedar House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect place to spend time exploring gisborne and surrounds or taking a break and relaxing in luxurious surroundings.​Cedar House is a two-storeyed, Edwardian mansion originally built in 1909 for the prominent Muir family of Gisborne. Her colourful history includes periods of use as a private school for girls, an exclusive hotel and restaurant, before being transformed into Gisborne's leading bed and breakfast inn.Located within walking distance to restaurants, harbour, museum, galleries and the stunning beach, this historic character home provides an atmosphere for leisure travellers as well as providing corporate groups with quiet surroundings to stimulate those creative minds. With 6 rooms and the self contained Pool House, Cedar House has a range of accommodation options to suit​ featuring elegant décor and superb 5-star facilities. Private bathrooms provide a hair dryer, a spa/jetted tub and a shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Cedar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing