We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Teal Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Teal Motor Lodge
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Gisborne
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Another good stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Another stay at this great motel. As mentioned before, the cooked breakfast here is just awesome. Great way to start the day
Only negative on this stay was that the blinds were broken and I couldn't close shut properly

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    15
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
12
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have regularly stayed at the Teal Motel over the past 5 years while travelling on business.

Stuart has always been friendly, professional and attentive to my needs. The facilities in the rooms are always clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stay here on a regular basis for business. Host accommodation so this gives benefit of free nights with qualifying stays
The rooms are really great. Spacious with comfortable beds, couches etc. Bathrooms are excellent? The cooked breakfasts are some of the best that I've had. You'll enjoy the bacon

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

We last stayed here 2 years ago and thought it was one of the nicest motels of our holiday. Since then we have stayed in numerous motels in the Host Group and we feel this is one of the best - due to the attentiveness of the owners. We had a 1 bedroom motel with TV in bedroom and living room,everything was very clean,nice kitchen area and bathroom,large covered seating area outside and a good pool.
Our only minor complaint is that the higher windows in the bedroom can be opened but there are no net curtains to keep out the midges at night.
We didn't find any restaurants in walking distance but it's only a 10 minute drive into town.
A nice touch in the Teal is the vending machine that dispenses beer plus the owners sell the excellent HiHi range of wines at cellar door prices.

Room Tip: pay the extra and have a one bedroom room rather than the studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DELTAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

After looking at several motels we were very pleased with Teal Moel. Absolutely immaculate and nice little touches, like hair dryer, iron, free tea coffee and cookies. When we checked in we were given free WIFI and even a little bottle of milk for our tea....nice touch.

The location was perfect.. Just a couple of minutes into town.

Staff were most plesant and helpful. We would stay here again for sure, and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megamiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wouldnt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

When we arrived at Teal Motor Lodge we were greeted by the very inviting swimming pool, the funky artwork on the walls and the gorgeous gardens. We found our unit and I honestly thought they had made a mistake! Our bathroom was HUGE, we had a seperate room all to ourselves and our son had his own room! The decor was lovely and the whole feel of the place was peaceful and quiet. I knew how much the room rate was and I really thought seriously about going back to reception and asking if we had been put in the wrong place by mistake - for the money it was so awesome!

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the complex on the corner. Very quiet and peaceful and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

The motel is approx. 15 minutes walk from the city centre.
We had one of the bigger rooms and we were fine with this. It was very clean, the staff was very friendly. The motel has a swimming pool and you have also the chance to wash your car. At reception, there is also a free internet access, wireless is available in your rooms.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan_972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
1.2 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
1.0 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gisborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 27 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.9 mi away
Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel
0.9 mi away
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
#12 of 27 in Gisborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teal Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teal Motor Lodge

Property: Teal Motor Lodge
Address: 479 Gladstone Road | Te Hapara, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Teal Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Teal Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing