We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“let down by a few things”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights.
This is a two level motel so if you can't do stairs then request lower floor.
Didn't worry us though.
What did concern us was;
Grrr...there was no luggage rack (not even a fold out one).
There was no hand towel in bathroom (I like to take this to use in the kitchen as I'm not one for wiping hands on a tea-towel). True, we could have requested these things but feel we shouldn't have to... They should be standard!?
Equipped as a 3-person unit (3 plates, cups etc) there were only 2 faceclothes !???
Apart from a curtain in the corner of the the room to cover door to balcony, there are NO drapes. The wooden venetian blinds do little to block out lights at night. If brightness does not worry you, you'll be fine. Unfortunately it does worry me (I get migraines if not dark).
Room spacious, beds clean and comfortable.
Bathroom clean, nice decor, but water pressure pathetic esp with wall mounted fixture! (Yes appreciate it was a walk-in shower and you'd not want water all over the floor).
Kitchen sink water pressure very low too.

So this review was going to be a 4-star until at 9.50am -on our FIRST morning- we got disturbed by housekeeping wanting to service our room.
...Was it likely to be dirty with us only just having slept there overnight??? Grrr
(why NO door signs provided for your paying guests if YOU want an early start to your cleaning regime...I'm on holiday!)
Motel night before in Opotiki had much better amenities and was $25 cheaper than this one.
Since no-one bothered to ask us if everything was OK with our stay when we checked out, here it is on Tripadvisor.

Excellent location close to city centre, but sorry, wouldn't stay again due to light issues.

Room Tip: 2 levels. If stairs a problem, request lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ENGELBRECHT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 80 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night in September and found it to be clean, comfortable and within walking distance to the local hotel where we had dinner. The studio room was a good size, nice kitchenette, comfortable bed with a nice view of the harbour from the balcony. We were on the first floor, and I did appreciate being able to open the balcony door to the let some fresh air in! Their continental breakfast was good and delivered at the time requested.Tip: If you want to go shopping, do not arrive on Saturday afternoon as most things are shut!

Room Tip: If you like a view, ask for the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed one night at Pacific Harbour and would thoroughly recommend it. Had a very spacious suite on the second floor overlooking the port. Beautiful sunny rooms, enormous bedroom, comfortable king sized bed, well equipped kitchen and lovely balcony area. Would love to have stayed longer so planning a summer break of more than one night, definitely at Pacific Harbour.

Room Tip: Husband has stayed here many times before on business and in different units - would recommend them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Lovely motel, by the river's edge and only a few seconds walk from the main street. Graham our host was very friendly and helpful, and gave us a one bedroom unit downstairs as I don't handle stairs very well. The unit was very spacious, a choice of two couches in the living room plus table and chairs. The kitchen, though it didn't have a stove, was well equipped. The bedroom was large and the bed comfortable. TV's in living room and bedroom. A shower over a spa bath gave options in the bathroom.There are several restaurants within walking distance, we chose to cross the river and dine overlooking the marina.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earthsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We've stayed here before and it's a short walk along the disused railway line to the restaurants at the Port. We had a large and well appointed room at the front (there's a little late night noise from the restaurants but they are far enough away not to be a problem).

It's probably not the best choice if you plan to dine in the town

Room Tip: Upstairs means you can keep the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertJGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hosts are warm, friendly and helpful. (like most Gisborne people). We have been staying regularly for 8 years now. Rooms are always clean with fresh milk waiting in the fridge for that all important first drink. Great central location overlooking the harbour. No restaurant but charge back facilities available from most local restaurants. Some rooms have outdoor courtyard for drinks and nibbles. The rear family unit is large and well apponted. Aircon in all rooms. Peaceful oasis on the fab east coast. Any problems are swiftly dealt with.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelalotnzTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This motor inn chosen at random as a good place to break our journey was a pleasant surprise. Our first floor accommodation comprised a decent bedroom with TV, a bathroom and very large lounge with kitchen facilities. A good sized sofa made it easy to relax and watch TV. The balcony had a view over the dock area which is partly in use, and otherwise converted to restaurants. The room was clean and tidy. This is strictly a one night stop because there's not much happening in Gisborne, but if you have to go there, stay at this motor inn.

Room Tip: Dockside view from upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidH118WH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
0 mi away
Waikanae Beach Motel
Waikanae Beach Motel
#16 of 26 in Gisborne
44 reviews
0 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#15 of 26 in Gisborne
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
#9 of 26 in Gisborne
91 reviews
0 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 26 in Gisborne
205 reviews
0 mi away
Champers Motor Lodge
Champers Motor Lodge
#11 of 26 in Gisborne
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Harbour Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Harbour Motor Inn

Address: Gisborne, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gisborne
#8 Business Hotel in Gisborne
Price Range: $96 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Harbour Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pacific Harbour Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing