We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most stunning wedding venue in Gisborne!”
Review of Ridge House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gisborne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ridge House
Ranked #1 of 14 Gisborne B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Glen and Kim have a truly wonderful home with panoramic views across the Gisborne vista. We fell in love with Ridge House as soon as we saw it and knew it would be the perfect setting for our wedding ceremony and reception. We live in Auckland, so did most of our planning from a distance over the phone and via email with all the local suppliers in Gisborne. Communication with Kim was easy, prompt and professional and we would highly recommend Ridge House for couples looking for an intimate wedding venue. We chose to stay 2 nights leading into the wedding day and on our wedding night. We stayed in the King Room and it was wonderful! On arrival we had champagne and fresh fruit waiting in our room, the Antipodes water turn down service each night was indulgent, the bathroom is immaculate and if you like a soak in the tub then you won't be disappointed by the complimentary bath salts and generous tub. Waking up each day to expansive sea views and blue skies, from the comfort of the King Bed, was bliss. Breakfast is better than the cafe's we frequent in Auckland. We dream about Glen's french toast - a lot - and can't wait to return! Now back to the wedding - if you like to have your hand on every aspect of the wedding then this is the place for you. We had a rustic themed wedding for 40 guests and Martins Party Hire supplied the marquee, tables, glassware etc. Our family did the set up and Glen was awesome and made our set up and pull down crew coffees - I don't drink coffee but the feedback from the crew was five star! Our caterers were Smoke House Cuisine and they made us an amazing southern style menu and used the Ridge House chef's kitchen to prepare the food. Our photos are by Sarah Joy Photography and they were taken all around Ridge House - there's no shortage of back drops for your photos. It was neat that we didn't have to leave our guests for too long and we were back to the party in no time. Our guests were well looked after and there was plenty of space for everyone to enjoy the reception with access to the main living areas and outdoor living spaces by the pool and ocean vista. The ladies also had a separate powder room/toilet set up by the hosts which was awesome. All our guests had the time of their lives and we brought in a dance floor and DJ to dance the night away. The following day we had our family do a clean sweep of the venue and jetted off on our honeymoon to Fiji. We didn't want to leave and we will always cherish Glen and Kim's hospitality during our special day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 52 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

Glen and Kim set the standard! We had two nights in this wonderfully-located, inspiring home and have been enthusing ever since about the views, the hospitality, the amenities and many small details which made our stay such a relaxing, engaging experience. These are outstanding hosts who have thought through what their guests enjoy and assured that everything is provided. And that includes a welter of background information/ chat that helps you understand/ appreciate what this tucked-away, sometimes overlooked corner of New Zealand has to offer. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David2014UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We had the most fantastic time staying with Kim and Glen in January...They are both such lovely hosts and made us feel very welcome...it felt like staying with friends. Kim and Glen are such natural hosts and such interesting people to talk to. Maybe we "exploited" this a bit during our leisurely breakfasts that Glen cooked so expertly, but they didn't seem to mind.

Breakfasts provided all the good food that the Gisborne region can produce accompanied by expertly made coffee. This alone kept us at the breakfast table, but there was also the wonderful views you get from the breakfast area. And that's not the only part of the house from where you get these spectacular views. Being a Peter Bossley house, there is a lot of glass and due to its location on a Ridge, it becomes difficult to decide whether the views South out to sea or North across rolling NZ countryside are the best....Of course, the view determines whether you relax in the infinity pool (North) or on the private patio of your room (South).

On top of fab hosts, wonderful breakfasts and a spectacular setting at Ridge House, the rooms are outstanding with very comfortable beds, great bathrooms, plenty of space, sliding patio doors, etc.

The icing on the cake is the turn-down service!

Thank you Kim and Glen for making our stay so enjoyable (and doing all the research and great NZ architects for us)....we will come back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I booked 2 nights at Ridge house for my parents who were visiting us in Gisborne from the UK over Christmas. Kim and Glen were amazing hosts and accommodated myself and my partner without hesitation to join mum and dad for breakfast each morning! The house is magnificent, as is the friendly cat! Beautiful views, swimming pool and spa. So pleased we chose Ridge House for my parents to stay as a Christmas treat. If you are passing through GIsborne you MUST have a night....or two.....or three with Kim and Glen.

THANKS GUYS!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim H, Owner at Ridge House, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thanks Emma, it was our pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We fully concur with the other reviews on Trip Advisor- we stayed with Kim and Glen leading up to Christmas and we couldn't have asked for more. One expects a clean bedroom and on suite but the little touches (fresh flowers, chocolates, mince pies when we arrived, we were even given some of Glen's wonderful honey on Christmas morning, the infinity pool and spa, the art work around the house, and such wonderful hosts) make Ridge House somewhere very special. The views around the property are magnificent and Glen and Kim even threw in a spectacular sunset for us on Christmas eve. We left feeling sad that we live so far away as we would love to return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen22IOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim H, Owner at Ridge House, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thanks Helen, It was a pleasure to share our Christmas with you and your family. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Warm regards Kim and Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Our stay was fantastic and one of the highlights of our road trip through the North Island. The place is amazing for a great sleep after a long drive up from Napier.
Thank you Kim and Glen for the wonderful hospitality, and Glen your morning coffees are magical.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris_888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We called Kim at the last minute to book a room, we arrived and were so happy with our choice. It is a beautiful home furnished with beautiful and interesting pieces of art. James jumped in the pool while I watched the final of the ASB Classic on the big screen TV located in the well stocked library. We sat out outside our room on comfy cape cod chairs and watched the clouds roll past over the sea and it felt like we were the only people left in the world until our hosts brought us a lovely cold glass of bubbles. We appreciated the small touches that made this a fabulous place to stay, the makeup remover wipes in the bathroom, the bath crystals if you wanted a bath, the chocolates and bottle of water next to the bed. The breakfast is fantastic, the coffee is great and the hosts Kim & Glen are really interesting multi dimensional people who are great to talk to. We are now recommending this to all of friends as a great place to stay while in Gisborne.

Room Tip: Go for the king room you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daneka_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim H, Owner at Ridge House, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your feedback, Daneka. It is really good to know that all the little things count. We strive to make our guests feel at home and to feel special, as though Ridge House is your very own private hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
1.9 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
1.9 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#15 of 26 in Gisborne
284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 26 in Gisborne
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel
1.9 mi away
Senator Motor Inn
Senator Motor Inn
#1 of 26 in Gisborne
191 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
#5 of 26 in Gisborne
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridge House

Address: 103 B Wheatstone Road, Gisborne 4073, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Gisborne
Price Range: $201 - $583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ridge House offers luxury hosted accommodation, a private retreat where guests can Escape the world, enjoy the tranquility, Relax by the pool, soak in the spa, wander the grounds, enjoy the large collection of contemporary New Zealand art, explore the region, or just take time out. Set on 2.4 hectares, Ridge House has stunning 360 degree views, from rolling hills to expansive ocean views; has its own olive grove; ; Minutes to beautiful Wainui Beach and Gisborne City. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing