We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Full Carpark Endorses”
Review of Ahi Kaa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ahi Kaa
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The Full Carpark Endorses”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This is a modern (refurbished) motel close to the city centre. We stayed in a light and airy one bedroom unit with a generous bathroom with a large walk in shower. There was a comfortable bed with crisp clean linen.It was a typical motel style with a good kitchenette. We had the addition of garden space outside our patio doors with a table and chairs to sit out at.
The motel was busy when other motels were quiet suggesting a good reputation with which we would agree.
Our host Les was a font of local knowledge, very easy to chat with.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wegetaround02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    24
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
39
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Modern. Clean. Spacious room & bath. Love the shower & complimentary breakfast. Close to the beach.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RicknElsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Highly recommend, great bathroom, loved the shower. Comfy bed and very clean. Beach close by. Friendly host.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank India21_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We had 3 nights at Ahi Kaa and the accommodation was fabulous beautifully decorated modern walk in shower in bathroom no doors lovely king size bed lcd tv in lounge and bedroom bonus!! The owners were lovely friendly people wouldnt look past staying anywhere else now in Gisborne.

Room Tip: We had a garden room so had nice outside as well as inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smoogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0.8 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#12 of 26 in Gisborne
274 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
#11 of 26 in Gisborne
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 26 in Gisborne
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel
3.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
#5 of 26 in Gisborne
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahi Kaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahi Kaa

Property: Ahi Kaa
Address: 61 Salisbury Road, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ahi Kaa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ahi Kaa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing