We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Believe the other reviews ! This place is shocking!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Vines

The Vines
Ranked #13 of 77 Restaurants in Gisborne
Price range: $14 - $35
Cuisines: New Zealand, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: This is a first rate restaurant serving excellent, imaginative and reasonably priced food.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Can't Believe the other reviews ! This place is shocking!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Firstly I am very generous most of the time with my marks usually for restaurant reviews. However this place leaves much to be desired...

PROS:

Nice Location near the vines, Free wine tasting, Good Prices and Celler Door Wines prices ($22 a bottle on average)

CONS:

Was promptly seated.... waited 15 mins for someone to even bring us a menu or wine list.... ended up giving up and asked someone... weird the person who seated us never returned??

Very Slow service, with waiters knowing nothing about the wines...odd as you are a vineyard restaurant prodicing the wines you are selling.

The restaurant is located inside a marque.... you are sitting on fake grass... inside a grubby marquee that seriously needs a scrub...with felt table cloths what the heck !!!

The food one meal was great stand out the other fish and chips and greasy mess

Would not reccommend or would never return I usually would not mind waiting or the locations being inside the grubby marquee but with more faults that I have listed it really is a flop

Never again

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shrinkingherlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    24
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great place for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Three couples arrived in motorhomes for a long lunch. Great food and wine at a very reasonable price. The staff were very friendly and helpful. At our request we were able to park our self contained motorhomes in the vineyard overnight.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnmarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orewa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We were a party of ten looking for somewhere to eat. A tip from a local directed us there. When we arrived they were busy preparing for a wedding next day but readily set about organising an extended table for us. Very friendly staff soon had us seated and ordering food. We were told the history of the vineyard and offered us wine samples while waiting for the food. When asked about their sparkling wine the owner directed the staff to open a bottle and shout us all. This naturally lead to a substantial purchase from the party. The food was excellent and mouth watering. We all ate well such that we didn't need to eat out that night. A most pleasurable experience and a place we would thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin_the_organist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gisborne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Love going out to Bushmere Estate for lunch. They often have great live music playing, the food is delcious and Mr Egan is always welcoming and entertaining! He definitely knows a lot about his wine, and they are very close to Gisborne to get the winery experience.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tmfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Atmospheric, beautiful food to match stunning wines with brilliant service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We held our wedding here and could not of chosen a better venue! The owners and chef listened to all our requests and came up trumps going above and beyond any expectations we ever had!!! The venue itself is gorgeous and calming amongst the vines and then the wines they make are to die for!!! Their menu offers an array of tasting platters to marry with the wines or a vast list of meals - was also very impressed with their kids meals which were healthy rather than chicken nuggets and chips, and the kids loved them! Would recommend Bushmere Estate for those wanting coffee and cake, wine and cheese, relaxing lunch or to hold the most important day of their life there - it's amazing!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gizzygirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vines also viewed

 
Gisborne, Gisborne Region
Gisborne, Gisborne Region
 
Gisborne, Gisborne Region
Gisborne, Gisborne Region
 

Been to The Vines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing