We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A SCREW UP”
Review of YHA Gisborne

YHA Gisborne
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
YHA Gisborne
Reviewed February 3, 2011

When I made the booking with the YHA here, I made sure the guy was well aware of the fact we were planning on arriving at 1-2 in the morning, and he said he would leave a key out... Then we got there in the morning he had of course forgotten to leave the key out... It is rather difficult (not to mention stressful/irritating) to find accommodation for 3 people at 2 in the morning. Poor, poor management skills... We went back the next morning and he did apologise. Which was nice of him I suppose. But still, the whole situation was a mess.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZtraveller38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 53 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2010

Great hostel except I am writing this review at 2am from the hostel due to noise. The only hostel I've stayed in where I've been kept awake by noise from neighbouring property! At 10pm loud motor bike roaring then the music started and is still going. All very quiet in the hostel itself. Also the metal springs in the bed are awful! If it was a full room, we'd all be waking each other up every tme we moved in our beds! I will not be staying another night!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bela123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

we stayed in a twin room with shared bathroom facilities. The room was clean and tidy, as were the bathrooms (not many toilets or showers, in a separate building from sleeping quarters).

The beds were awful; thin mattresses on metal beds with springs.... if only the managers would buy high density foam mattresses, this YHA would be pretty damn perfect!

Would recommend this YHA but only if you don't mind sleeping on uncomfortable beds.

Good location, very friendly and helpful management, nice size.... shame about the beds otherwise we would have stayed a few more nights.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LydiaNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled solo
Thank Borraginol Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, traveled solo
Thank BLUP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Delfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ich hatte Glück und war in einem separaten Häuschen untergebracht. Im Haupthaus sind die Zimmer offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0.3 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
2.2 mi away
Colonial on Gladstone
Colonial on Gladstone
#17 of 26 in Gisborne
30 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waikanae Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
75.6 mi away
Hicks Bay Motel Lodge
Hicks Bay Motel Lodge
#24 of 26 in Gisborne
310 reviews
1.7 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 26 in Gisborne
200 reviews
0.8 mi away
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
#9 of 26 in Gisborne
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Gisborne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Gisborne

Address: 32 Harris Street, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Gisborne
Price Range: $35 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing