We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean hostel in a sleepy town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of YHA Gisborne

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
YHA Gisborne
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Clean hostel in a sleepy town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile


We only stayed here for more couple of nights, as there wasn't much to do in Gisborne. The hostel was great, a large old house I think, the dorms were split sex and had very comfy beds for the good price.

The communal areas were meticulously cleaned by the female manager and the facilities were excellent.

This place had a really lovely vibe, definitely not a party hostel, nice and chilled.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Berrydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
2
15
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Our room was fairly average but comfortable, albeit a bit small. Having said that, we were a last minute booking, and Clive squeezed us in when we were desperate!!

The kitchen was well equipped and quite spacious, and we could eat outside in the garden. It was only a short walk into town and to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickymakin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

We thought this hostel was really nice, lovely building, nice new kitchen, nice bright rooms, nice garden area and the guy was very helpful, we turned up unannounced as the one I'd booked having closed down with out telling us. We didn't have a problem with noise or anything. One of the nicest ones I have stayed in.

Room Tip: We stayed in a private room which spacious and had towels provided too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDM637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

The place was ok. It was nice not to have to sleep in a bunk bed, but the mattresses weren't that comfy and the living room is not very cosy. All in all an ok stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msp1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2011

When I made the booking with the YHA here, I made sure the guy was well aware of the fact we were planning on arriving at 1-2 in the morning, and he said he would leave a key out... Then we got there in the morning he had of course forgotten to leave the key out... It is rather difficult (not to mention stressful/irritating) to find accommodation for 3 people at 2 in the morning. Poor, poor management skills... We went back the next morning and he did apologise. Which was nice of him I suppose. But still, the whole situation was a mess.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZtraveller38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gisborne hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

Great hostel except I am writing this review at 2am from the hostel due to noise. The only hostel I've stayed in where I've been kept awake by noise from neighbouring property! At 10pm loud motor bike roaring then the music started and is still going. All very quiet in the hostel itself. Also the metal springs in the bed are awful! If it was a full room, we'd all be waking each other up every tme we moved in our beds! I will not be staying another night!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bela123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

we stayed in a twin room with shared bathroom facilities. The room was clean and tidy, as were the bathrooms (not many toilets or showers, in a separate building from sleeping quarters).

The beds were awful; thin mattresses on metal beds with springs.... if only the managers would buy high density foam mattresses, this YHA would be pretty damn perfect!

Would recommend this YHA but only if you don't mind sleeping on uncomfortable beds.

Good location, very friendly and helpful management, nice size.... shame about the beds otherwise we would have stayed a few more nights.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LydiaNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0.3 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gisborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.2 mi away
Colonial on Gladstone
Colonial on Gladstone
#22 of 27 in Gisborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
#13 of 27 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waikanae Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.7 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#1 of 27 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Gisborne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Gisborne

Property: YHA Gisborne
Address: 32 Harris Street, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Gisborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your YHA Gisborne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing