We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eastland Motor Lodge
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Gisborne
1 review
“Fantastic Fun!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed 6 nights in one of the newly upgraded Studios. The rooms were immaculate and accommodating to our every need. They were serviced daily and the whole complex was clean an tidy. The heated pool was an added bonus. The staff were excellence and really helpful. Would DEFINITELY recommend and stay again. Really felt like a holiday =D

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b1chelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    29
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
21
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we stayed four days in a twin room and the unit was clean. The service by the cleaners was excellent, the cleaning lady was very accomodating and helpful.
we stayed down the back surrounded by trees and newly done landscaping, it was so peaceful and you could hear the birds singing in the morning. We all loved the pool and the pool is very well kept. The owner is a friendly guy, and very hospitable. We would definitely stay again. Forgot to mention the shower pressure was great.

Room Tip: Get one of the units down the back, nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Great value for the money. Kids loved the pool. Hospitality and flexibility of the owner was awesome. I left 2 days early due to a change of plans and the owner graciously reimbursed full amount without hesitation. Very clean and thorough cleaning provided every day for our 10 day stay. Will definitely stay there again and recommend it to others!

Room Tip: Request a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLJ21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohope, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed two nights here in a lovely freshly renovated room was perfect for what we needed we were able to have a nicely cooked dinner in our room bathroom was abit small but still functional. Looking forward to coming back next year and swimming in the pool. New owners are doing great in improving this motel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The room we stayed in was one of the newly renovated rooms. The new owners have done a great job renovating these rooms (currently just two have been done so far I believe?). And they are also working hard on improving the grounds and general appearance of the motel. whilst there were beds for three the room was probably slightly on the cramped side but had everything we pretty much needed. Probably the bathroom area was the most cramped but certainly useable. There was a teething problem with the newly installed heat pump and the owner's attention to this was immediate. He had it fixed and working that day. Owners were always polite and ready and willing to do anythign to help. Would highly recommend this motel and look forward to staying again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife,myself and daughter stayed in a small family (1 bed ) unit for 5 nights which was clean, 1970's but spacious and very reasonable and due to be upgraded! It was perfectly adequate for our needs. The new owners were charming and have renovated the pool with the addition of solar heating. Other renovations are underway and eventually the motel will cater for a range of clientele. Our unit was at the back away from the road and everything possible was done to make our stay enjoyable and cost effective. We wish the new owners every success in their new venture.

Room Tip: Back units are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colonyNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2012

unfortunately we had no choice to stay here, there was a huge event in Gisborne and all the motels were fully booked in town. When we arrived there no one was at the office so we waited there for about 5 minutes before a lady come to the office stating she was in the middle of eating her lunch giving us the impression we were interrupting her. When checking in she wasnt sure what we had booked, after going through the booking system for her on their computer i was able to show her where our booking was. when we got to the room and opened the door a peculiar old smell seeped through it smelt like the carpet was damp. the outter duvet covers were filthy and you could tell they had not been washed for a while luckily for us we had spare blankets so we stripped the blankets off the bed and used ours. The toilet had no toilet roll holder it was out of order and there was a sign stating that we needed to wash/dry all our dishes we used???? i think health & safety regulations there are appauling!!!! thank god we only were there for 1 night we will never use that place again and would highly not reccommend staying here. It is poor value unhygenic, an absolute rip off and indeed need or a renovation and good scrub out. THE WORST PLACE I HAVE EVER STAYED IN THE WORLD!!!And that is no exaggeration meaning it is the worst place! A backpackers would of been cleaner than this place by far.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0.3 mi away
Colonial on Gladstone
Colonial on Gladstone
#20 of 27 in Gisborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
4.2 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 27 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Champers Motor Lodge
Champers Motor Lodge
#10 of 27 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beachcomber Motel
Beachcomber Motel
#7 of 27 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.9 mi away
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
#11 of 27 in Gisborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastland Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastland Motor Lodge

Property: Eastland Motor Lodge
Address: 798 Gladstone Rd | Te Hapara, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eastland Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax in the beautiful city of Gisborne and let the folk at the Eastland Motor Lodge make your stay one to remember. Gisborne’s main beaches are close by where you can enjoy a leisurely stroll, swim or surf. Waikanae Beach is known for its great surfing and you can also see Young Nicks Head from the beach. Wainui Beach is only a 5-minute drive away and is also a great beach for surfers.An easy 35 minutes’ drive will have you arriving at many lovely beaches up the East Coast or you can visit Eastwoodhill Arboretum, a similar distance away, which is known worldwide for its many beautiful trees, particularly beautiful in the autumn when the leaves change colour. Just past the Arboretum is the Rere Rock Slide, another icon of the Gisborne Region.Eastland Motor Lodge was a purpose built 8 unit motel in 1970 and was completed as a 17 unit motel with an outdoor swimming pool by the mid 70s. One of its main features is the 2 acres of majestic land than surrounds the buildings with a great mix of trees including some spectacular towering palms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Eastland Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing