We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House & Garden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Just like stepping into House & Garden. Luxurious, well appointed and modern spacious unit. After a walk along the beach we enjoyed having dinner and a few wines in our own private courtyard. So relaxing in Gisborne's beautiful sunshine. What a gem - didn't want to leave.
Diane R

Room Tip: Ask at reception to have a cooked meal delivered to your room. Just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeR37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanBeachMotorLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Diane
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are pleased the weather stayed fine for the bride and groom. We enjoyed your company and are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again sometime in the future.
O & R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 172 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

Welcoming and very helpful owners - was even able to borrow a surfboard for body boarding as the motel is very close to the wonderful surfing beach. It is 5 minutes drive from Gisbourne but in a great location - with village shop opposite that does the best fish and chips we have had in NZ! Apartment very clean, modern and comfortable with big TV in lounge, good selection of channels, and there is free wifi. Lovely couple of nights here.

Room Tip: All the apartments are of a high standard - modern, well laid out and comfortable (we had a look in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Hi Ann
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Ocean Beach! We are so pleased you enjoyed your time spent here with us, it was a pleasure to have you. We are always happy to see guests enjoying our beautiful beach, it is what summer in Gisborne is all about!
Thank you for your comments regarding our apartments being clean, modern and comfortable - that is what we strive for! Thanks again and happy travels to you!
Kind regards
Hamish and Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I've stayed here once and I'll stay here again! In my mind there is no accommodation in Gisborne that compares to Ocean Beach. Why?
The rooms are the largest I have ever experienced.
The decor is very tasteful and grounds are kept well.
The service is consistently professional and helpful.
Excellent value for money.
It's at the most beautiful beach in Gisborne (in my mind!).

Ocean Beach is located ten minutes drive from Gisborne city and removed from the hustle and bustle. The Wainui village is very pretty and quaint with the most spectacular beach which stretches for kilometres, all the way up to the peninsular between Wainui and Makorori. It makes a fantastic morning walk watching that East Coast sun rise!

There are delicious burgers across the road and fish and chips up at Okitu. Town is a short cab ride away or 8km drive. The units are HUGE and most have rear tropical courtyards. The bathrooms, bedrooms and kitchens are super-sized compared to what you usually get for a motel / hotel. It feels a little like resort living and great bang for the buck!

If you want the genuine Gisborne / East Coast experience - this is it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Was unsure where to stay in Gisborne but decided to go with Wainui Beach and are so glad we did. Just out of town but so quiet and hardly anyone on the beautiful beach despite the lovely weather and safe swimming. 2 bedroom room was huge with private courtyard adding to space - plenty of room for a family of 5. Room was very clean and modern. Staff were all very friendly including the lady who did the daily room serving.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Hi Ross
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Ocean Beach. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and everything we have to offer here at Wainui, including our gorgeous beach. It was great to see your family enjoying it and making the most of our lovely summer days. It was a pleasure to have you stay and we hope to see you again!
Kind regards
Hamish and Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We have stayed for 2-3 weeks at Christmas / New Year at Ocean Beach for the last 5 years. Every year we come away refreshed and can only praise the managers and staff who are friendly and helpful.

"Anchorage" one bedroom unit is well laid out with the open plan kitchen/lounge opening up to a private courtyard with table chairs and umbrella for outdoor dining. There is a barbecue available in the complex courtyard. The unit is well equipped with cooktop, cookware, fridge and utensils supplied. The rooms are large by NZ motel standards.

The cleaning staff deserve a mention as they do a really great job, this is one of the best cleaned motels we have stayed at. Also unlike a lot of motels/ motor lodges there is a generous supply of towels in the bathroom.

Wainui Beach is not on town supply water, relying on tanks, but we have have never had a problem with the water hot or cold.

Wifi comes free with every unit (this is not the case in a lot of NZ hotels) and the TV has been upgraded to 50+ channels with TV's in the lounge and bedroom.

The beach is only a short walk away with great surfing and swimming. Wainui is a long white sand beach great for walking. There is a local store across the road from Ocean Beach for bread / milk/ supplies which also offers burgers / pizzas / fish and chips. We personally don't miss the restaurant that used to operate next to the site as it could be noisy.

If you are looking for a relaxing stopover or longer break, out of the bustle of town, but right next to a gorgeous beach then this is the place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Hi Sue
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of Ocean Beach. We love having you to stay every summer and are so pleased you manage to find yourselves refreshed by the end of it. The housekeeping girls were thrilled with your mention of their good work, thank you for that!
All the best for a happy and prosperous 2014. We look forward to seeing you again next summer when Anchorage will await you yet again.
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have enjoyed our stay at the Ocean Beach and will definately go back again. It was a busy time in Gizzy with the R&V so it was nice to go back to a quiet motel at night. The room was nice and the service excellent

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annelie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Hi Annelie
Thanks so much for your review of Ocean Beach. We are happy you enjoyed your room and your stay with us. You are right, Gisborne at New Year is a hectic place and we are glad you were able to find respite from this here!
We look forward to seeing you next time!
Kind regards
Hamish and Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I recently had a party of ten Japanese family members stay in Gisborne over the busy New Year period.

They were very happy with there stay and the quality and size of the rooms meant there was room for everyone, and the newness and high level of the decor impressed. They also liked the proximity to the beach and the rural outlook from the patios.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottDJ5149RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Hi Scott
Thanks very much for your review of Ocean Beach. We are so pleased your extended family enjoyed their stay with us, they were a great group to host and it was our pleasure!
We look forward to seeing them again.
Kind regards
Hamish and Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
2.6 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
2.7 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#13 of 26 in Gisborne
277 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
#12 of 26 in Gisborne
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 26 in Gisborne
199 reviews
3.3 mi away
Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel
2.7 mi away
Senator Motor Inn
Senator Motor Inn
#1 of 26 in Gisborne
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Motor Lodge

Address: 7 Oneroa Road | Wainui Beach, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range: $94 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Beach Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at beautiful Wainui Beach on the scenic East Coast, Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, the perfect place to start your holiday. Fifteen superbly appointed one and two bedroom apartment-style suites and studios, some with spa. Enjoy a walk along the beach with the gentle breaking of the waves in summer and the ever changing drama of the ocean in winter. First city in the world to see the sun rise. Private tropical courtyard. Cooked or Continental breakfast delivered to your room. Free wifi and SKY Guest Select with more than 50 Sky channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Ocean Beach Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing