We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Certificate of Excellence
Matamata, New Zealand
1 review
“Our second visit”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have enjoyed our stay at the Ocean Beach and will definately go back again. It was a busy time in Gizzy with the R&V so it was nice to go back to a quiet motel at night. The room was nice and the service excellent

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annelie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi Annelie
Thanks so much for your review of Ocean Beach. We are happy you enjoyed your room and your stay with us. You are right, Gisborne at New Year is a hectic place and we are glad you were able to find respite from this here!
We look forward to seeing you next time!
Kind regards
Hamish and Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    41
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
45
73
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I recently had a party of ten Japanese family members stay in Gisborne over the busy New Year period.

They were very happy with there stay and the quality and size of the rooms meant there was room for everyone, and the newness and high level of the decor impressed. They also liked the proximity to the beach and the rural outlook from the patios.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottDJ5149RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi Scott
Thanks very much for your review of Ocean Beach. We are so pleased your extended family enjoyed their stay with us, they were a great group to host and it was our pleasure!
We look forward to seeing them again.
Kind regards
Hamish and Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss Alps, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the Motor Lodge at christmas eve. The hosts were very friendly and provided us great food as we hadn't have an option to geht dinner. The room was large, well equipped, modern and clean. Unfortunately many moskitos and the noise from the street made it difficult to sleep. It was our first accomodation with cold water only.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tamsi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hi Tamsi81
Thank you for your review. As you found out traveling the way you came around the remote East Coast on Christmas Day, services are limited so we were very happy to share our Christmas dinner with you when you arrived late on Christmas night and are glad you enjoyed it!
The weather over Christmas was rainy and then warm which is unfortunately the mosquitoes preferred weather. Each room has insect spray if needed, but most likely closing the windows would have taken care of this issue along with the traffic noise also.
We were most sorry to notice ourselves that the hot water was off briefly the following morning, which we discovered just after your early departure. It is certainly not a common occurrence and we apologise sincerely for this and wish you had told us as we could have fixed it in two minutes as it is just a matter of resetting the pilot light. As we have infinity gas hot water system there is no heating delay and hot water would have been available immediately. Once again we are very sorry you experienced that issue.
Thanks again for your review of Ocean Beach, we are glad you thought our rooms were great!
We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels in NZ and wish you a happy 2014.
Kind regards
Hamish and Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 25, 2013

My parents and I were recently travelling the East Coast and Ocean Beach Motor Lodge was amongst one of the highlights. The host were extremely courteous and friendly, the rooms are spacious and well appointed and the rates were very affordable. I would return there anytime and thoroughly recommend all my friends stay there. Top class!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Hi Andrew
Thank you so much for your great review of Ocean Beach! We are very happy you and your parents enjoyed your stay with us and will be recommending us to others. We will look forward to seeing you again next time!
Kind regards
Hamish and Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Very clean ,excellent support services, Breakfast arrangenment delivered the night before very suitable for us as an old couple. When the restaurant opens again this will be an added bonus.
Kitchen was fully kitted out with all a traveler needed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi Merv
Thanks so much for taking the time to review Ocean Beach. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, it was our pleasure to have you.
Kind regards
Hamish and Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Only stayed for one night but was very impressed by the high standard of room and the service at the reception desk was friendly and helpful. The room had a spa which was nice and clean, just great to sit in and enjoy a wine at the end of the day.
Good to have the local store across the road and a restaurant on site, will have to try this next stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Peter H
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again some time.
Kind regards
Hamish and Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Well managed motel just out of Gisborne but stones throw from the beach. Very quiet and 1 bedroom units spacious, clean and airy. Would definitely use property again. Although there is no restaurant there are plenty 10 minutes up the road.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MM R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi MM R
Thank you for your review of Ocean Beach, we are glad you enjoyed what we have to offer and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
2.7 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
2.7 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#13 of 26 in Gisborne
273 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
#11 of 26 in Gisborne
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 26 in Gisborne
196 reviews
3.3 mi away
Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel
2.7 mi away
Senator Motor Inn
Senator Motor Inn
#1 of 26 in Gisborne
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Motor Lodge

Property: Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Address: 7 Oneroa Road | Wainui Beach, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Beach Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at beautiful Wainui Beach on the scenic East Coast, Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, the perfect place to start your holiday. Fifteen superbly appointed one and two bedroom apartment-style suites and studios, some with spa. Enjoy a walk along the beach with the gentle breaking of the waves in summer and the ever changing drama of the ocean in winter. First city in the world to see the sun rise. Private tropical courtyard. Cooked or Continental breakfast delivered to your room. Free wifi and SKY Guest Select with more than 50 Sky channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Beach Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing