We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Certificate of Excellence
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Hosts”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Being away from home on a weekly basis I am extremely fussy at where I stay. The hosts are lovely and the rooms are extremely clean, modern and comfortable with the added bonus of a private courtyard. The kitchen is well equiped, but it would be nice to have a larger coffee plunnger and coffee to go with it.
Being a light sleeper I did have a problem with the traffic noise from the main road - mainly logging trucks at 2am, but if this is not a problem for you I would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Shona
Thank you very much for your kind review of Ocean Beach. We are so glad you appreciated your room and courtyard, and very pleased you found the cleanliness of your room to your liking.
As you were staying in a studio and these rooms are designed for couples only, the coffee plunger in your room is the smaller, designed for two cups. But now that we know you enjoy your coffee we will be more than happy to put one of big plunger pots in your room with extra coffee next time you stay. :)
Regarding the logging trucks, at times they can be busy in the early hours as you experienced and we are sorry you weren't able to enjoy a full night of uninterrupted sleep. Next time you stay we will definitely try another room for you and that should take care of that problem.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to review us, it helps us to provide a better service for our guests.
We enjoyed meeting and chatting with you and hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Hamish and Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    41
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
45
72
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamden, Connecticut, Usa
2 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I would recommend the Ocean Beach Motor Lodge to anyone visiting Gisborne, whether for business or a vacation. The room was impeccable, clean, and the Spa bath worked so well I used it twice during my one-night stay. The bed was very comfortable, I slept like a log. First-rate service, friendly owners, I would go back anytime.

Room Tip: A complimentary bathrobe would be nice. Otherwise, everything was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Eric T
Thank you very much for your great review of Ocean Beach. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and made good use of the spa bath. We are also happy to hear you slept well. Thank you for your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room, it is always our aim to keep housekeeping at a high standard.
We do hope you have enjoyed the rest of your trip in NZ Eric and that your belongings left behind found their way back to you safely. All the best for the rest of your travels and we hope to see you back again in Wainui one day!
Kind regards
Hamish and Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

With regular visits to Gisborne for work I wanted something restful after a tiring trip and days work. I loved the little Wainui Beach for walks and settled on Ocean Beach Motor Lodge which had great off road parking facilities. The rooms are large and airy, easy to warm in winter and keep cool in summer. Fantastic kitchen facilities, room to spread in the living area which was great for work with WIFi available. The bathroom and beds always spotlessly cleaned and comfortable. Very friendly service from Kate and Hamish and nothing too much effort. It was so nice to have the heaters turned on for me after arriving late at night. I have stayed in a variety of the units and they all meet the same standards. There is room for couples or families or like me just a quiet break to recover for the next days work. There was some road noise but nothing I didn't sleep through and the access to the main road meant a quick trip back into Gisborne. I thoroughly recommend Ocean Beach Lodge, it is like a home away from home

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBtraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear HBtraveller2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a great review and detailing all the things that you enjoy about Ocean Beach. We certainly appreciate your custom and always really enjoy having you to stay!
We hope to see you again soon and, once again, thank you very much for your feedback.
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Ocean Beach is a gorgeous, tropical gem by the beach. The units are huge, service impeccable and location right near Wainui Beach is hard to beat.

After arriving later in the evening post a long drive from Auckland, Kate and Hamish the managers were very welcoming, professional and lovely. Our room was huge, beautifully furnished and warm with the heating turned on before our arrival.

Our kitchen was self-contained and we cooked a late dinner with all utensils (plus more!) at hand. We were really surprised at the size and functionality of the kitchen. The fridge was far larger than at most motels, there was a lovely timber bench, full cooking facilities etc. Ocean Beach offers units that more like spacious apartments! We felt very pampered!

We had three great night's sleep. The bed was comfortable, room spacious and with lovely decor. Certainly it was nice not to have normal city noises and to wake with the smell of sea air.

There is a restaurant on site which offers delicious Mexican food. Wow, the dishes were large and super tasty! It was nice to meet a few of the super friendly locals which made our experience all the more authentic.

Overall, we found it difficult to fault Ocean Beach Motor Lodge. It provides so much more value than other motels we've stayed in. Grateful for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Rooms on the right hand side wing (where the office is) are slightly newer apparently and further fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear NZKateE
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and everything that Ocean Beach has to offer.
We hope you can visit us again sometime and enjoy waking to the smell of sea air once again!
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed here with a colleague on a business trip, in a two bedroom suite. Nice welcome when we arrived there after a long drive from Wellington. Room: Very spacious, comfortable temperature and well equipped. Bed: Comfortable. Hot water: Plentiful. Wildlife: Room came with a free Praying Mantis, which I played with for the duration of the stay, before re-introducing it into the wild. Location; Just a minute or two on foot to a fabulous beach and handy for the town of Gisborne. Noise: Some noise from the nearby highway (logging trucks), but I've heard a lot worse. Conclusion: I recommend this establishment to fellow travelers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the main highway as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oldbadger1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Oldbadger1960
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and what we have to offer here at Ocean Beach. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The family rooms are spacious and many many years ago I'd have considered them maybe even luxury. Today, the furniture has seen it's best days.

The oven didn't work at all (or we were not smart enough to turn it on, but tried all buttons, no reaction). Parts of the floor and blinds were broken/missing. The small flat TV in the second room showed a disturbing vertical black line in the center of the screen on all channels. The really huge flat TV in the livingroom doesn't have a reasonable signal, so what's the point of offering such a big screen at all? But all of these things are kind of normal or to be tolerated in New Zealand motels it seems.

This motel however failed, because it couldn't provide a good sleep for us. Room 2 is located just next to their restaurant which runs an extremely loud compressor all day and night, just a few meters from the sleeping room. It's rotating frequencies which kept us awake for several hours. Sorry, that's unacceptable for this high price range. Louder than every downtown megacity hotel as the sound is reflected by the concrete fence wall.

Room Tip: Avoid all rooms close to the restaurant. Check the noise before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiSchnitzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear NZLongTermTraveller
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Firstly, please know we were very saddened to read that you had not enjoyed your stay here with us. It is certainly our most fervent wish that ALL of our many guests enjoy their time at Ocean Beach and this is why we really appreciate feedback of all types as we certainly wish to address any issues that are brought to our attention.
We are very sorry that your sleep quality was marred by the noisy compressor. Thanks to your review alerting us we have addressed that problem and found a fault that led to this. This will no longer affect any units at all as the restaurant has relocated the compressor and it is housed far enough away from all units now.
Likewise, with your review alerting us to the tv with the black line, we have had that fixed also. We wish you had told us at the time about the oven as it is simply a matter of the timer being set correctly, sometimes little hands have a habit of fiddling with these things, so we have now had all oven timers by-passed so this inconvenience can't happen again.
We acknowledge your comments regarding carpeting/furniture etc and are very happy to say we are now in the process of refurbishing all of our rooms which is due to be completed by the end of the year and are quite sure that if you decide to give us another go, you would not be disappointed.
We did write to you immediately after reading your review expressing our disappointment and extending the offer of another stay and it is our hope that you will take us up on that the next time you are in Gisborne. Please feel free to contact us directly on info@oceanbeach.co.nz and it will be our pleasure to ensure your next stay with us is everything it should be.
Once again, thank you for your review.
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The upstairs partments was modern, spacious, very well appointed as too the bathroom and bedroom. Good kitchen facilities too. Free and fast Wi-Fi (very handy). The Mexican restaurant just across the carpark from the motel is also worth a visit. Great food.

Just a great all round place to stay with very warm and accommdating hosts. Would stay again and also recommend to anyone heading to Gisborne.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Greg W
Thank you very much for your great review of Ocean Beach. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us and also for your favourable recommendations to other travellers.
We hope to see you again sometime!
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
2.7 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
2.7 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#14 of 26 in Gisborne
272 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 26 in Gisborne
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel
2.7 mi away
Senator Motor Inn
Senator Motor Inn
#1 of 26 in Gisborne
185 reviews
3.5 mi away
Beachcomber Motel
Beachcomber Motel
#7 of 26 in Gisborne
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Motor Lodge

Property: Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Address: 7 Oneroa Road | Wainui Beach, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Beach Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at beautiful Wainui Beach on the scenic East Coast, Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, the perfect place to start your holiday. Fifteen superbly appointed one and two bedroom apartment-style suites and studios, some with spa. Enjoy a walk along the beach with the gentle breaking of the waves in summer and the ever changing drama of the ocean in winter. First city in the world to see the sun rise. Private tropical courtyard. Cooked or Continental breakfast delivered to your room. Free wifi and SKY Guest Select with more than 50 Sky channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ocean Beach Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing