We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent motel: clean, tidy & spacious room - in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Senator Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Senator Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Gisborne
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent motel: clean, tidy & spacious room - in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

Last Thursday we walked into the Senator motel on the waterfront in Gisborne having spent six nights in Hawkes Bay. Having driven the 230km from Napier we hadn't made any bookings but tried a couple of motels before going into the Senator. It's a pretty new place. We were offered a room upstairs with a balcony and view looking east over the waterfront area. In fact it was pretty well a suite, with a separate twin bedroom as well as the (queen sized) bed in the main room. Excellent, clean bathroom and kichenette with kettle, toaster and microwave. Situated as it was - right across the water from the inner harbour, with easy access to the walkway and Waikanai beach - it was great. Considering the facilities and the location, we thought it was good value. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank strts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    53
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
95
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

i had a very pleasant stay at the Senator Motor Inn whilst in Gisborne for a wedding recently. My room was very well appointed for my requirements with a very modern and fresh ensuite bathroom off my studio room. i had a lovely view out over the boat harbour and across to cafes on the other side of the river. The sun rose directly into my bedroom so if you are a day break sort of a person, you would not get a better view. if you aren't a morning person, the blinds are thick and keep out most light.
Olive and Paul were very courteous hosts.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

This accommodation is really excellent, close to the main part of town, good restaurants, and overlooking the river. The rooms are very quite and comfortable with excellent cooking facilities in the room. The views from the room was great both in the wet and fine weather during my stay.
The staff treated me very well and were accommodating.
I would highly recommend this accommodation for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OCEECM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

Nicely located motel overlooking Gisborne’s inner harbour. Unfortunately all balconies are facing a busy street and car parking, and the first floor balconies are on footway level. All those provide a lack of privacy and balconies are totally useless. The worst part - the motel is hugely overpriced. NZD 175 per night is about 20% more expensive than all surrounding hotels and motels in the area. The offered price does not reflect quality of accommodation or the service provided, and motel is pretty much the same as most other motels of the same age in New Zealand.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kermadek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2010
I have just discovered this site hence my late reply. I value any sincere and honest feedback as it is a valuable tool to either enhance our service or continue doing something that works well. The price of $175 for a one bedroom unit was during our high season over the Christmas/New Year period. It was cheaper or similar to other accommodation providers around the harbour side and inner city area. The normal price outside this period is cheaper. All units do overlook the inner harbour marina, which is a hive of activity during the busy holiday period, so perhaps not so suited to the traveller who wants total peace and quite during the day. Guests can choose to stay in the upstairs units if available. In regards to cleanliness and service , we pride ourselves on having a reputation for operating to a high standard and constantly have high praises regarding that. However, one can never rest on their laurels, and appreciate that continual improvement and quality control is always ongoing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0.1 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gisborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
0.0 mi away
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
#13 of 27 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#1 of 27 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
#5 of 27 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.7 mi away
Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Motor Inn

Property: Senator Motor Inn
Address: 2 Childers Road, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Senator Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and comfortable motel accommodation in the heart of Gisborne - Senator Motor Inn offers this and more.Our modern harbour side motel is a two minute walk to Central Gisborne’s shops, bars, cafes and restaurants.Each of our spacious self contained suites has its own balcony with views over the bustling inner harbour marina. From here you can take a relaxing riverside stroll along the riverside walkway to the spectacular Waikanae and Midway beaches in one direction or along the riverside walkway alongside the rivers in the other direction.Senator Motor Inn offers top quality motel accommodation for the discerning business traveller or holiday maker during the week or for those special get away from it all weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Senator Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing