We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marina Restaurant

The Marina Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 77 Restaurants in Gisborne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: French, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Ultimate fine dining in Gisborne- Michelin Style Dining, Bistro style lunches
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Its location is superb right on the riverside. The staff are professional and in love with french cuisine and its every bit as good as any fine dining experience you would find globally. The food was magnificent with a great wine selection to match. You wont be disappointed!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    27
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Happy New Year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Thanks to all the staff at the Marina restaurant for a wonderful evening, on 01/01/14.
All at our table had wonderful compliments and huge smiles at the end of the evening.
The food was outstanding and the service was exceptional. We look forward to visiting you throughout 2014. Just had to put it in words how happy everyone was! To top it off the views of the firework display, as ever, were the best.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice entree”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We arrived and were seated straight away, we were offered the wine list and were given table water straight away. We ordered the bread to start and it came out in good time, the breads were explained to us as were the dukkah and oil. Next were the entrees, I had the duo of salmon which was amazing but it came with a bread? On the side (I confess I had forgotten what the dish was composed of) what would have been good would have been if the dish was explained to me should I have been dipping ? I'm not sure but on its own it was weird. My partner had the duck pate and unfortunately the bread with it was rock hard, making it unpleasant to eat. Next were the mains I had the chicken dish and wouldn't rave about it, it was a little dry but it was ok, my partner had the beef and felt it was also a bit dry. We didn't stay for dessert because we were already underwhelmed. Overall the restaurant itself was well presented and clean, the chefs taster was a nice touch, but we didn't feel like the food was made with thought on that day. Maybe the result of dining at the end of a busy new years period. We would visit again and give this restaurant another go because it has had many positive reviews by other people but at this point we wouldn't recommend it to our friends.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daneka_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpp23, Owner at The Marina Restaurant, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our restaurant. We were sorry to hear that you were underwhelmed with your dinning experience. We take great pride in our business and we wish that every customer leaves satisfied.
Our bread is freshly made everyday, the bread that is served with the pate is classic French bread and so has a crusty exterior and soft interior. The salmon duo is served with a savoury madeleine which is designed to be used like a bread for saucing the coconut broth served with the salmon.
It is a shame if you weren't satisfied with your mains that you didn't advise us about this whilst you were in the restaurant. We do a call back to every table purposely with the pepper mill once guests have started eating their mains as a way of checking that everything is fine.
We do take all feed back seriously both positive and negative. We endeavour to have 100% customer satisfaction and we do hope the next time you are visiting the East Coast region you will come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent meal as usual.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Always a treat to dine here. The service, food and wine are excellent.
They even fitted us in without a booking, as we were late arriving, so we felt very fortunate.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank tymanfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Had a great lunch with a friend for her birthday. We had an amazng table at the window with beautiful view of the rivers. The lunch menu had been changed since last season which was great as well as lovely choices.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Marina Restaurant also viewed

 
Gisborne, Gisborne Region
 
Gisborne, Gisborne Region
Gisborne, Gisborne Region
 

Been to The Marina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing