We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS Apartment overseeing Gisborne Harbour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marinaview Apartments
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stayed three nights at this wonderful facility. Fully equipped kitchen. Nice comfortable bed. Air conditioning for instant heat for the winter. Nice to sit and relax on the LARGE balcony off the lounge and bedroom. Lovely view of all the fishing boats and restaurants.

Room Tip: One bedrm big enough for 2 of us. Bigger Avail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank candycat_nap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2011

We only had time for one night in this wonderful apartment, overlooking the Marina and the cargo ships, which was fun to watch. Apartment was very well equipped in every way and quite luxurious. Not much in Gisborne but the apartment balcony was a great place for prawns and wine and relaxing!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynatbello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2009

When we stayed at Marinaview it was very clean and you can't beat the location. It's new and that means it's easy to heat or cool as some NZ lodgings lack in that area. We liked being able to cook in the room and the kitchen was adequately furnished. It's close to Wakanae Beach and every night we walked there to watch the sunset. It's very quiet and has great views of the ocean. There are several good restaurants close by that we walked to for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2008

This new apartment complex is located on Reads Quay looking over the Turangui River and Gisborne Port and across from the Marina and is a short walking distance to all the main center facilities of this most neat little city . It is in one of the nicest locations we have seen and is right next too one of Gisborne's nicer hotels called the Portside Hotel. On check-in we were told that the building has 21 or so units (1,2 and 3) Bedrooms and has been open only a few months.

We have been coming to Gisborne infrequently for car conventions, family ocassions , wine festivals etc. for about 20 years and we think it is one of NZ's hidden gems. The city is developing very quickly and we were saddened too hear about the earthquake . Surprisingly the city looks great after the clean up and you wouldnt know there was one unless you looked very closely.

We had a most enjoyable few nights stay in Gisborne during Febuary 2008 on a recent trip . We had been recommended to try this new apartment complex by a colleague. The apartments at Marina View are modern, spacious and well equipped with lovely lookouts and expensive looking furnishings. Our 2 bedroom unit provided full kitchen facilities , dishwasher, washing machine and dryer, TV. DVD, etc ,and a large bath in 2nd bathroom with decent shower in our own ensuite. Queen beds in both bedrooms and a nice sized walk in wardrobe. While our unit was agreeable , housekeeping left a lot to be desired . The bathroom glass was scum stained and dirty with hair in the bathroom and on the toilet seat, no soap in our ensuite and no dishcloth to wash our dishes with and although there was coffee, tea and sugar there was no milk or clean water in the fridge. The kitchen drawers had bread crumbs in it and the cutlery had water stains . The deck was dusty and the outdoor table hadnt been used or wiped for a while. One of the drawers we opened in the bedroom contained used tissues.

We were disappointed there was no SKY so we had to go to the pub down the road to watch our sports. If you don't purchase your own groceries you have to go out anyway for meals as there are no dining facilities in the apartment building. We were told there are plans for a restaurant downstairs which would be a welcome addition to the small population of guests in and around the area (their are 4 hotels/ motels in close proximity on the Quay). As the apartment was so close to the City , we were able to walk a few pleasant minutes to local restaurants & cafes - in particular we enjoyed the "Gordon Ghekkos" cafe which is across the river. The "wharf Bar' next to it was okay too but we thought pricey in comparison. Just along from these is the Fishing Club which offers generous pub meals and has a great outlook onto the water with an emphasis on after work and family groups. "The Works" is a nice outdoor eatery and the meals are good although the service can be slow.

When we checked out we were not given the opportunity to comment on our concerns nor did the unit have any guest information or feedback form. The office lady although helpful, was unprofessional in her appearence and in her manner.

Although the building itself is new , it obviously experienced some damage from the recent quake but we were told repairs are in hand. It has a nice swimming pool but could have been a nicer experience if it were kept in a cleaner condition.

So another enjoyable and pleasant stay in Gisborne and we would stay again if these are mere teething problems as the apartments are lovely, but would hesitate if the same conditions presented themselves.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Chikaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Si puedes elegir plaza de párking evita que tenga armario colgado.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Thank jlsicilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0.0 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
#12 of 26 in Gisborne
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#13 of 26 in Gisborne
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Senator Motor Inn
Senator Motor Inn
#1 of 26 in Gisborne
188 reviews
1.9 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 26 in Gisborne
199 reviews
0.7 mi away
Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marinaview Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marinaview Apartments

Address: 6 Reads Quay, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Gisborne
Price Range: $220 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marinaview Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marinaview Apartments are situated in the marina area close to great restaurants, cafes, bars, shopping. 3 min walk to the beach, great nature walks. The apartments have spacious decks, kitchen, laundries, bedrooms all day sunshine. Large lap pool, children love the situation as it is close to parks, beaches with great fishing and surfing. Great restaurant for children on site Breakers, Plan your next family get together and enjoy the spacious apartments and recreation areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Marinaview Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing