We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow wow wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clooney Restaurant

Clooney Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 2,198 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $110
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Clooney is a restaurant with intent and ambition. A fine-dining destination in nature, it offers a range of unique food and beverage experiences to suit the contemporary guest. Clooney’s food is considered yet abstract, the menu fuses classic culinary practices with a thoroughly modern approach to ingredients and technique. The flavours are clean and precise; dishes are continually in progress to reflect seasonality, inspiration and evolution. The breadth of the Clooney wine list spans over 300 labels and complements the food through its perspective on new and old world balance. Clooney is driven by its commitment to fearless design in both its food and aesthetic. Leading architects Fearon Hay created the space, a concrete frame reworked with curvaceous forms, fine textures and luxurious fabrics. The restaurant also regularly collaborates with visual artists.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wow wow wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Clooney a was such a fantastic experience. The food was amazing, the ambience so individual - I loved the waiters serving through the wall of beads, have privacy while giving access for a faultless service.

Will go back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    97
    38
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Exceptional on every level”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Clooney nails it! Uber chic interior, with great booth seating. Very romantic dining for couples. Our waitress was exceptional - the best service we have ever had - and being an ex Matre'd at fine dining restaurants - believe me - I am FUSSY! She was very helpful at elaborating on the menu and was also great at making recommendations on the wine list as well. Every element with our menu choices were amazing. A clever and well executed menu, that proved to be a taste sensation. The best pork I have have ever had! Simply amazing. Will I be back? Oh yes! (might have to save up a bit before going again, but worth it)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Quality Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Upon entering the restaurant I was struck by how dark the interior looked with the subdued down lights and large curtains hanging between sections of the restaurant. But I was solo dining so as long as I could see and taste the food it does not really matter.

The degustation was of a good quality highlighted by a truly superb beef dish. A generous cut of rump, cooked excellently and coated in a very flavourful beef sauce. Delicious!

I really enjoyed my meal here and would recommend the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank El_Greenholio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“an enjoyable night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Clooney is located on Sale street a very desolate part of the city at night but ample roadside parking is available and one you enter inside you are transformed to a dimly lit elegant night restaurant with sections separated by hanging sheers and beeds giving privacy to diners though not by hard non see through walls. It was my wifes birthday and there were 9 of us and we had a wonderful evening spread out over 3 hours with a lot of laughter and fun. The wine list was varied and covered the best from local and international and we tried a Craggy range 2010 Le Sol Syrah.The entrees were divine though difficult to imagine as the dish described showing the chefs ingenuity. The mains were limited and a lot to meat which personally I don't relish much but certainly eatable. The desserts were superb and to die for. But truly outstanding and what makes Clooneys is the service.

Well done Clooneys

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank REVIEWERAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If you are looking for a food sensation. This is the place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I have been to the assumed best restaurants in the world from Paris to London, Bangkok to Tokyo. I had a meal last night at Clooneys. Quite simply the best meal I've had since la maison de bouef in Belgium in 1989!! Awesome and should be ranked here not just No1 in Auckland but probably far further afield. Great place!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clooney Restaurant also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Clooney Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing