We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Euro is lovely”
Review of Euro

Euro
Ranked #40 of 2,344 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $100
Cuisines: European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: An Auckland icon situated on the waterfront with relaxing sea views. Combined with superb food and attentive service, a great way to see Auckland.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Lunch today and service was just right - attentive, good humoured and not obsequious. Had a really interesting dish which turned out to be a highlight despite the boring sounding name - Macaroni cheese with crayfish! It was delicious. Shame the restaurant was out of oysters....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NJM33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
euromgr, General Manager at Euro, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Hi NJM33,

Thanks for taking time out to share your lunch experience at Euro. It's always fantastic to read positive comments regarding the service we give.
Really happy that you loved Simon's crayfish mac and five cheese - it's been a big hit!
We usually have a plentiful supply of oysters - I know this was not possible at times in May due to stormy weather.

Warm regards,

Vincent Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 571 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

It was a Monday night and we just wanted a quick bite to eat. Depot was full as was Soul Bar so our quick bite turned into a scrumptious meal at Euro. We were delighted to hear they had Bluff oysters! They were superb. A little pricey at $35 for half a dozen. The waiter had the cheek to tell us they had been doing a lunch special at $19.99 a dozen!
Our mains - I had the fish and my husband the beef cheek - were delicious. Could fault the service and the setting is amazing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
euromgr, General Manager at Euro, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Hi Donna S,

Thanks for coming to see us during your visit. Really happy to read that we could fit you in!

We appreciate the positive comments, and I am sure if you had the time you would have come back for our May Bluff oyster lunch special!

Many thanks,

Vincent Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Everything about this restaurant is top class, the ambience, the view, the waiting staff, the wine and the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
euromgr, General Manager at Euro, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Hi Jane,

Thanks for taking the time to show your appreciation of what we do here at Euro.

We work really hard to bring together all the elements that make a great dining experience, so it's great to get feedback like yours!

Warm regards,

Vincent Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Have been twice. Both times during the week. First thing to notice was how cavernous it is when its almost empty. Anyway, the menu is full of simple foods dressed up and priced as something they're not. Worst of all, on both occasions I had a reaction to the food which I only get after eating food with MSG in it. At least Chinese takeaway outlets give you the option of "no MSG". Do yourself a favour and go somewhere else - Auckland has a lot of really good restaurants. It will probably cost you less and the enbiance will be much better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ganda_Jens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
euromgr, General Manager at Euro, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Ganda_Jens

We really apologise that your dining experience did not live up to your expectations.

We only use the most fresh and best in high quality ingredients and our dishes reflect this. We also have our own organic farm garden where we grow a huge amount of our own vegetables, herbs, fruit, olives etc ourselves to ensure that we have the freshest ingredients available to our customers.

Our pricing is extremely competitive and whilst our dishes may appear simple, they are far from that. We spend a lot of time perfecting our menus and we intend for them to be deceptively simple and packed with flavour. We have guests with all sorts of dietary requirements on a daily basis and we have not had any issues.

If you would like to get in touch with me personally to discuss your dining experience in more detail we would be pleased to do so.

Kind regards,

Vincent Rey
Restaurant Manager
Euro Restaurant & Bar
vincent@eurobar.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was our second visit to Euro and once again we thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience. The wait staff are professional but friendly and made good suggestions regarding the menu and wine list. The food was, as always, beautifully prepared and presented with good size portions.
the wine list is extensive. Overall, Euro is a great dining experience and one we would definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aotearoanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
euromgr, General Manager at Euro, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Kia ora Aotearoanz!

Thank you for leaving your feedback on Tripadvisor. It's nice to read that you love what we do.

Hopefully, you will become one of our regular customers - who also keep coming back for the great food service and atmosphere.

Warm regards,

Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Euro also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Euro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing