We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not excellent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Euro

Euro
Ranked #29 of 2,198 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $99
Cuisines: European, New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: An Auckland icon situated on the waterfront with relaxing sea views. Combined with superb food and attentive service, a great way to see Auckland.
Timaru
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good but not excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Nine friends in Auckland to see a show, we booked into Euro for something special, and that is pretty much what we got. Service and food was very good, until one of our party told the waiter that his tuna was dry and over seasoned and he didn't take the criticism well. He didn't do anything about it and just asked the people at the table beside us if their tuna was ok, to which they said it was excellent so he took it that our friend was exaggerating and ignored the complaint. The waiter was finishing up the next day so maybe he just couldn't be bothered to make the effort to make sure we were happy. His manner after this left a lot to be desired. so one of our party would definitely not go here ever again, the rest of us were very happy with our food. Great location!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CazzNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff B, General Manager at Euro, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hi Cazz,

Thank you so much for taking the time to contact us. Sorry to read that although a staff member may be leaving that the would not care. Great to hear you all enjoyed the overall experience.

Best regards,

Jeff Bull
General Manager
3099 866 or 021 266 5945
jeff@eurobar.co.nz
Shed 22, Princes Wharf, Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    593
    253
    116
    60
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“slow service, nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Although nowhere near full, when we ordered drinks we were told there would be a 15 minute delay. It took all of that and then some before we got a drink. We sat outside and when the sun popped through the clouds we asked a staff member if we could put up the umbrella beside the table, to be told it was broken and if it was a problem there were plenty of seats inside. No one came back to take our order for a second drink, after waiting too long we settled the account at the bar and left for somewhere where our custom was valued. This bar has such a great location on the waterfront and could really be special but it all starts with service

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nikki255109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff B, General Manager at Euro, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hi Nikki,

Thank you for posting your comments. I am very sorry that you were not offered more drinks and apologise for the umbrella issue. Customer service is our business so I am surprised to read that you were not well taken care of.

Best regards,

Jeff Bull
General Manager
3099 866 or 021 266 5945
jeff@eurobar.co.nz
Shed 22, Princes Wharf, Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home Counties
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Found a gem on our around the world tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Having just retired we decided to spend two months travelling the world and came upon Euro purely by accident, gave it a try and were delighted. We eat out a lot and the food here is excellent. Very well cooked, great mixtures and every dish we had was spot on. Our server Alistair, was very sociable and attentive to our needs. All in all a great experience which has enhanced our short stay in Auckland, I hope Sydney has as much to offer!
PS my wife was not too sure about the raw egg with salad but that was the only blot!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bannism4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff B, General Manager at Euro, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Hi bannism4,

Great to hear you found us and even better we you enjoyed. Thank you for your comments, especially about Alastair. Al is a really star and true professional so thank you for posting your thoughts.

Sounds like a great trip, have a wonderful time.

Best regards,

Jeff Bull
General Manager
(09)3099 866 or 021 266 5945
jeff@eurobar.co.nz
Shed 22, Princes Wharf, Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great but not wow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

I have been a regular at Euro for many years and enjoy the atmosphere, great service and excellent food. It would be the best part of 2 years since returning having been lured away by the many fine new and not so new restaurants AKL has to offer. Very much looking forward to a return and a night out with 10+ friends. As always greeted with professional service and immediately offered a couple of tables for pre dinner drinks. Waiter hovered enough to ensure glasses were never empty..excellent! Seated outside luckily as the evening was very humid. Wait staff again very professional. The menu was good but here's where I'm looking for the wow and intrigue. We choose the peking duck and prawn & crab entrees. Peking duck was good and passable but any old Chinese could have done as good and probably better. Prawn & Crab delicious, would love to see this as a main with a tiger prawn and king crab claw...sure it will be expensive but to would also deliver a wow factor. Order Venison & Tuna with a selection of sides. Venison was perfectly cook to medium rare, just melt in mouth 5 star! My partners tuna again cooked perfectly but bland and sauce somewhat insipid. the sides in particular the good stalwart onion rings were superb! Having tackled all this and paced very nicely by the staff..onto dessert. I choose the house sorbet wanting a refreshing end to the night...Unfortunately what I got was more or less a $15 slushie. On the other hand my partners warm chocolate cake was stunning. All up a great night with just a couple of blips which gave 4 star instead of 5. Most importantly the service was great and we chipped in some cash appropriately. Will always return but the competition is fierce.

Helpful?
Thank McBanjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff B, General Manager at Euro, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Hi McBanjo, thank you for your post.

I will be speaking to the Head Chef about the food issues you have raised. We are obviously very embarrassed about the level of food offered. I offer my apologies on behalf of the team. The Chef will be looking into each issue highlighted and deal with each point accordingly.

I am very sorry about your recent visit. We work very hard to make sure that every guest has a great time with us and I am personally disappointed to hear of your experience. Thank you so much for your kind comments about the service and your continued support. Contact me directly when you might next be in for me to personally take your booking or to at least say hello.

Once again our sincere apologies and we look forward seeing you again.

My very best regards,

Jeff Bull
General Manager
(09)3099 866 or 021 266 5945
jeff@eurobar.co.nz
Shed 22, Princes Wharf, Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
154 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Outstanding chef, offstanding waiters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Ever since the New Year’s Eve 1999-2000 where restaurants really tried to make the buck of the century (and ended up half empty) we have the habit of having a sumptuous lunch from the normal menu instead, and then spending the evening in the streets. Arriving in Auckland on the 31 December, we actually had no other choice, all the upper end restaurants being either closed or fully booked. However, Euro accepted lunch bookings as late as 4 pm. The setting makes you feel like in Southern Europe, while the food had the edge of the best of modern Northern Europe cuisine. The waiters, however, reminded you of (old) Eastern Europe, “couldn’t care less”, one of them even walking around in dark sun glasses not saying a word. As a sign of how we appreciated the service, despite the excellent food, was that we paid with our most expensive credit card and barred the tip line. At no other restaurant during our two week stay in New Zealand, we had reason to give less than a 10 per cent tip, service sometimes being unprofessional, and the food overpriced, but at least the staff doing their best

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luxotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff B, General Manager at Euro, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Hi Luxotraveller,

Thank you for posting your great comments about how wonderful the food and setting is. I am very disappointed to read about the standoffish attitude from the wait staff, most of the team are very friendly, knowledgeable and bend over backwards to assist our guests needs. I will certainly be looking into the area mentioned.

We take great pride in our work and all comments are passed onto the team, good or bad. I hope you had a great visit to New Zealand.

Best regards,

Jeff Bull
General Manager
Euro Restaurant & Bar
jeff@eurobar.co.nz
(09) 3099 866
jeff@eurobar.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Euro also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Euro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing