We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chefs table great experience and excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Euro

Euro
Ranked #33 of 2,232 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $98
Cuisines: European, New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: An Auckland icon situated on the waterfront with relaxing sea views. Combined with superb food and attentive service, a great way to see Auckland.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chefs table great experience and excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We had a great experience last night at Euro , joining their Chefs table .
Chefs , Eugene and Croyden were fabulous fun , and produced great food , with explanations and education to add to it .
Would recommend this ! We will be back for more

Helpful?
1 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    257
    118
    63
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food - lousy wagyu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Great atmosphere, knowledgeable (and very warm and entertaining) waiter and sommelier. Mostly great food. However the great disappointment was the wagyu steak. It was as expensive as it was mediocre. It dampened the whole evening but we were too polite to complain about it. Its a real pity - otherwise the food and the atmosphere and the service would be just excellent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Panos_Couros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Hot, hot, hot...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

The head chef - SImon Gault - is one of the judges on NZ Masterchef. Euro also takes its place in the Top 50 restaurants of the World, as voted by Conde Nast.
But is it any good?
Absolutely!
You have to accept, though, it will be busy, even on a Wednesday night. Without reservations, our party had to sit at an outside table. Yes, under heaters, but still a chilly Auckland evening.
You have to accept, it will be expensive. Yet, depending on your selection, it may surprise you. The large Caesar salad is not pricey, but good value for a large serving.
You have to accept, the certain unique touches that make this restaurant different. Like the hanging meats in the viewing fridge. Or the tube of pork paste that comes out with the bread selection.
From what I could see, the most popular selection on the night was the rotisserie chicken. Looked very appetising, but I wanted something special - NZ scallops to start, then NZ sirloin. Just fantastic!
Very happy and satisfied to have dined at one the World's best.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thedjlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fancy take aways from euro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Popped in for a few drinks on a Friday night and ended up getting take aways. They came in brown shopping bags and little individual containers. I assembled them almost like the chefs would (ha ha), and damn they tasted good! I had the lamb rump and a rocket and pear side salad.
I think it was more fun eating delicious food from euro at home than it is to sit amongst the friday night viaduct crowd!
I would totally do take out from euro again...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthwestofTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Pretentious rubbish with poor food & service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We were told this was one of the best places in Auckland but having eaten at man y excellent places in Auckland, this was by far the worst. The service was poor, the food was average & the clientèle pretentious.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Razzi-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Euro also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Euro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing