We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special factor ; your payment goes to the Cancer Society !”
Review of Domain Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland Central
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Domain Lodge
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have been staying at the Domain Lodge for the last 4 weeks and are very happy with the nice staff good clean and sunny rooms and cooking facilitys . Best of all , we are contributing to a good cause as the facility is run by the NZ Cancer society . Please consider the positive effect and enjoy your stay in Auckland at a excellent location - can walk to New Market shops as well as Queen street and the Domain Park as well as the Museum and a wonderful Arboritorum are within 5 minutes walk from front door !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 54 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stay regularly at this hotel for business as it is right outside the City Hospital and adjacent to the Domain.

The reception staff are helpful and friendly, bag storage is available if you arrive before your room is available, and after you have checked out. I haven't brought a car but I believe parking is free and you can leave your car even after you have checked out.

The two bed apartments are a reasonable size; the twin rooms have outside windows but the main bedroom has an interior window so it can get a bit stuffy. Shared ensuite between the two rooms. The bedrooms are upstairs, no lift so keep this in mind if you can't manage stairs. There is a sofabed in the lounge.

Only the two bed apartments have kitchen facilities. The smaller apartments don't have a kitchen, but the shared kitchen/dining facilities on levels 2 and 3 are large, well appointed, with each room having its own fridge space. There is a BBQ for the more adventuous!

Lovely gardens and patios/decks for people who some outside space. Clean, tidy and well looked after.

The only downside that I am aware of it that the lift is exceptionally slow, so except when I am moving my suitcase I walk - which could be considered an upside as it helps to keep me fit :-)

I think this is a great value place; right on the bus routes and walkable into the CBD if you're feeling fit/keen.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SCJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very quiet, clean as, wonderful location across from the Domain and central with main bus route just around the corner and the train station just down the road. Superb kitchen facilities - the best I have seen and outdoor setting on balcony as well - also BBQ available. Really good value. Pleased to be contributing to such a good cause, the Cancer Society. The only slight problem is some staff are more welcoming than others but would return for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ezra41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My family of six recently stayed in a two bedroom apartment here and let me add my vote to the other reviewers who have strongly recommended this place. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and tidy, there is good storage space for your luggage, the location is great (very central), and it is very quiet with a lovely outside space. There is no pool so if your idea of a holiday requires swimming then this will be a problem. There is no aircon either, but there are ceiling fans and opening windows to help you stay cool. Nice little touches like plunger coffee provided everyday. Like RSBLJV we only had to pay $219 for six of us which seemed very reasonable for the quality and location. Stay here!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CantonaForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I don't know why I have not reviewed the Domain Lodge before, because its simply the most comfortable, best value stay I've come across. This time my wife and I stayed for an overnight in Auckland, but we have stayed here several times in single rooms and double apartments, twice with my mother from Jersey, who loved it, and once with my sister from Jersey who also enjoyed the stay (and she has travelled!). Its quiet, close to the cbd, next to the large park and museum, and has a bus stop for the inner link bus service just around the corner. Its comfortable, more like a cross between a hotel and motel,with very well provisioned cooking and dining facilities either in suites or communally. Shopping is available at nearby Newmarket on the bus route, where there is a supermarket. There is secure, covered parking with a lift leading directly into the lodge. Gardens are pleasant. On top of that, it is run by the Cancer Society, so as well as having a great place to stay, you are providing support to a great cause. Everyone is a winner, so stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiwistroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here for a night recently, lodge is very clean, quiet and well equipped and in a very handy location. We had a 2 bedroom apartment for $219 which for five people represents exceptional value in central Auckland. Lodge is run by cancer society so also contributes to a great charity. Will stay here again.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank RSBLJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I have stayed here a few times over the years, in a variety of room types. All of their rooms are good. They are always very clean, and it is very quiet, despite its convenient location. The rooms that don't have cooking facilities have access to the large, well equipped communual kitchens. The only thing it really lacks is free wireless internet. It is very close to the hospital which means it is very convenient for the patients staying there (it is owned and run by the Cancer Society), but it is therefore not so close to restaurants etc. It is, however, only a few minutes walk over the bridge to K Road (if you go there early and not to the dodgy end) and about 10 min walk to Newmarket with great shopping and restaurants. Because of the good service and quiet rooms I much prefer to stay here when I am in central Auckland, rather than the more expensive large hotels in the central city.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
4  Thank Glyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#35 of 66 in Auckland Central
714 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
712 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,564 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domain Lodge

Address: Park Road and Boyle Crescent | Grafton, Auckland Central, Auckland, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Central
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domain Lodge is a modern and welcoming motor lodge conveniently located in the central Auckland. An ideal choice for corporate or leisure, especially those visiting Auckland University, Starship and Auckland Hospitals or the vibrant and trendy restaurant and shopping districts of Parnell and Newmarket. More than a motel, Domain Lodge will feel like your home away from home with the best of Auckland at your doorstep. Its tranquil garden setting is a haven offering security and comfort after a busy day in the city. We are proud of our guest facilities and look forward to welcoming you soon. You are assured of a high standard of friendly service and attention. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Domain Hotel Auckland Central
Domain Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing