We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Domain Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Domain Lodge
Ranked #23 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Whangerei
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

I don't know why I have not reviewed the Domain Lodge before, because its simply the most comfortable, best value stay I've come across. This time my wife and I stayed for an overnight in Auckland, but we have stayed here several times in single rooms and double apartments, twice with my mother from Jersey, who loved it, and once with my sister from Jersey who also enjoyed the stay (and she has travelled!). Its quiet, close to the cbd, next to the large park and museum, and has a bus stop for the inner link bus service just around the corner. Its comfortable, more like a cross between a hotel and motel,with very well provisioned cooking and dining facilities either in suites or communally. Shopping is available at nearby Newmarket on the bus route, where there is a supermarket. There is secure, covered parking with a lift leading directly into the lodge. Gardens are pleasant. On top of that, it is run by the Cancer Society, so as well as having a great place to stay, you are providing support to a great cause. Everyone is a winner, so stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwistroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
14
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Okato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a night recently, lodge is very clean, quiet and well equipped and in a very handy location. We had a 2 bedroom apartment for $219 which for five people represents exceptional value in central Auckland. Lodge is run by cancer society so also contributes to a great charity. Will stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank RSBLJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I have stayed here a few times over the years, in a variety of room types. All of their rooms are good. They are always very clean, and it is very quiet, despite its convenient location. The rooms that don't have cooking facilities have access to the large, well equipped communual kitchens. The only thing it really lacks is free wireless internet. It is very close to the hospital which means it is very convenient for the patients staying there (it is owned and run by the Cancer Society), but it is therefore not so close to restaurants etc. It is, however, only a few minutes walk over the bridge to K Road (if you go there early and not to the dodgy end) and about 10 min walk to Newmarket with great shopping and restaurants. Because of the good service and quiet rooms I much prefer to stay here when I am in central Auckland, rather than the more expensive large hotels in the central city.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Glyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

I spent a week here recently, and can honestly not a find a fault with this charming hotel. The staff are so friendly and accommodating, the rooms spotlessly clean,top facilities and it`s in the heart of Auckland.The prices are reasonable, you also know that your stay is helping to support the Cancer Society. All the top attractions of Auckland are within walking distance, or just a short bus ride away.

Room Tip: If you want to stay, in the heart of Auckland, at a reasonable price, look nowhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daintree, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

I can only agree wholeheartedly with everyone comments. A lovely modern lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens and with the most wonderful staff - from the lovely, caring girls at reception (and Michael on weekends!) to all the friendly housekeeping staff.

Ours was an unexpected stay as we were actually on a cruise when my husband had a mild heart attack and ended up having heart surgery at the Auckland City Hospital - the Port authorities booked me in to Domain Lodge where I stayed 3 weeks while he was in and out of hospital. During what was a very traumatic time I was overwhelmed by the care and support of everyone at Domain Lodge - someone ALWAYS had time for a comforting chat.

We were so happy that our accommodation money went to such a wonderful cause - the first three floors are provided free to cancer patients and families and the fourth floor where we were is for paying visitors with funds going to the Cancer Society.

Warm, friendly, convenient to bus links, spotlessly clean and with all those little touches which mean so much - a daily 'delivery' of milk to your apartment, lovely biscuits and free ground coffee for your plunger. Comfortable communal lounges, open deck area, laundry on each floor and communal kitchens if you don't have cooking facilities which I think only applies to standard rooms - apartments have kitchenettes and the lovely unit we were in when Peter left hospital had both laundry and full kitchen.

Cannot recommend it highly enough - thank you Anne, Barbara, Julie, Jackie and Michelle!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

A lovely welcome greeted us at this hotel. There is secure parking on site and the rooms are very well appointed. Our 'room' was more like a suite and had an excellent little kitchen and a double and twin beds in seperate rooms. We slept peacefully and then had a good continental breakfast served in the room. This place is not too far from the central downtown area and is within easy reach of the main Auckland sights. We would definately recommend it if staying in Auclnad - not least because the profits go to supporting the Cancer Society.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

We got a warm welcome from friendly and helpful staff at reception and enjoyed our three night stay in a very comfortable two bedroomed apartment. Bedrooms upstairs, along with a toilet and wash basin. Kitchen, lounge, shower and toilet downstairs. Lovely views over the city and within easy walking distance to free city link bus service, which is a great way to explore central Auckland. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwiKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
City Towers
City Towers
#36 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
1.1 mi away
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
#33 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
City Garden Lodge
City Garden Lodge
#42 of 108 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest Newmarket Serviced Apartments
1.1 mi away
Freemans Lodge & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domain Lodge

Property: Domain Lodge
Address: Park Road and Boyle Crescent | Grafton, Auckland, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domain Lodge is a modern and welcoming motor lodge conveniently located in the central Auckland. An ideal choice for corporate or leisure, especially those visiting Auckland University, Starship and Auckland Hospitals or the vibrant and trendy restaurant and shopping districts of Parnell and Newmarket. More than a motel, Domain Lodge will feel like your home away from home with the best of Auckland at your doorstep. Its tranquil garden setting is a haven offering security and comfort after a busy day in the city. We are proud of our guest facilities and look forward to welcoming you soon. You are assured of a high standard of friendly service and attention. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Domain Hotel Auckland Central
Domain Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing