We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steak in Auckland, best staff and best desserts.”

Jervois Steak House
Ranked #18 of 2,272 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $73
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: “The steakhouse to end all arguments”The Jervois Steakhouse or JSH to its regulars opened in 2006 with a 5 star rating as New Zealand’s first premium steak restaurant and continues to exceed customer expectations. We could, as most web sites do, talk about ourselves in a very complimentary tone, but guess what - we are not the hero, the meat is.So here’s just a tipple of why customers love the Jervois experience:Steaks to die forSimply the bestFood heavenBest steakhouse in AustralasiaHighly recommended, highly anticipated and even more highly appreciated
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Best steak in Auckland, best staff and best desserts.”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Having been to the Jervoise Steak House and its steak competitors around Auckland a number of times now I can confirm that is is still the best in town.

Our waiter seemed to have an endless amount of knowledge about the food on the menu, it became a game to see if we could find a question to stump him! We probably should have been tipped off that he was too smart for us by his uncanny resemblance to Sherlock Holmes!

Onto the food, its superb. The menu here seems to stay pretty constant with a few changes here and there but the real delight comes in the range of extra dishes of the day. The lamb dish I had on my last visit was to die for!

For dessert it had to be the chocolate truffles and coffee and there was no disappointment there!

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone, apart from perhaps a vegetarian.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David_Basset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    123
    45
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The signature prime rib is a must!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Simon Gault has done very well up against his rivals at The Grill (Grand Sky Hotel), I think it's best to support a kiwi over an auzzie any day! Probaby one of the best steak restaurants I have had the pleasure of dining in, it's just amazing! You can't ignore the signature prime rib (kig cut is the best choice), great food, great service and simply, world-class!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WELLYFOODIE007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
152 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Waitangi Day lunch with steak”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We'd wanted to go here for a long time and saw a deal on one of those sites so quickly snapped one up so the wanting became a definitely doing and we're so pleased we did. Lunch for Waitangi day - started with tuna, followed by a fillet steak on the bone with truffle fries and just in case we'd not be big enough gluttons we had the chocolate figs (soaked in brandy first) - our consciences (if not our bodies) were quietened with the promise of a 'walk'! Everything we had was superbly presented and cooked, we had a window seat and our waitress was incredible. We'll definitely be back.
and yes, there was a walk and there was no need for anything else to eat that day!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Steak and good service”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have had lots of visits to Jervois Steak House and to date never had a bad experience. Nice Steak and good service

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SaKiwiAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

My only complaint I have about this place is its like a shrine to Simon gault! I believe all great chefs should let the food do the talking and not have the need to plaster there name, photos and books around! He even has his book for sale on the menu!! I cannot complain about the food at all! I have been there a couple of times and will return again! The lamb and steaks are cooked to perfection and the candied kumara is to die for!!! Next time I must try to make room for the appealing desserts!

Helpful?
Thank tammz_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jervois Steak House also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Jervois Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing