We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Verbena Bar and Bistro - CLOSED

Verbena Bar and Bistro
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Auckland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The food here and service are brilliant..you can sit in the bar with live music and enjoy some amazing snacks or go through to the restaurant which has a lovely atmosphere and prices are reasonable...also a great place for a quick drink...I highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Always good food and enjoyable, friendly hospitality”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We are locals to this place and love the fact that we are catered for so well, locally. If we want a cheap eat there's the fish and chip Fridays in the bistro or Steak and Chip Saturdays or if we have a special occasion and want to splash out a bit, we can go to the restaurant at the back of the establishment. Whichever, we've never had a bad meal or experience here. Took family there last weekend and had a great meal in the restaurant. Thanks Steve for this little gem, and just keep doing what your doing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flyok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolute fantastic”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Had an excellent meal at this restaurant. Being visitors to NZ from the U.K. we were not only happy to meet Steve the owner also an englishman, but with the excellent food especially the mashy pees, the great service and his well trained bar staff pouring an excellent Stella we were absolutely overwhelmed

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Bring in some craft beers!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We live in the neighbourhood and this place is really convenient. Decent food and good service. Here's my biggest complaint: the beer list stinks. Craft beers have become really popular throughout the US and New Zealand and most places have kept up with this. So when we go to a place like Verbena which is higher end than the other local spots, it would be nice to see some craft beers on the menu instead of tired old Steinlager and Stella. We've even mentioned this to owner, who gave us a disinterested shrug!

As a result, we drive PAST Verbena and go the extra 15 minutes to Stafford Road in Northcote Point which has kept up with the times and boasts a fabulous wine and beer list. Our friends who live 5 minutes from Verbena do the same!!

Verbena is missing out on a huge opportunity to bring in more local punters like us who enjoy a few beers on a Friday night after a long week. They've got nice food, nice wines... why not a few nice beers that help support local breweries like Epic and Galbraith's?

Let me put it this way: if they did this, we'd be in there every weekend! But they don't, so Jeremy at Stafford Road gets our money. It's a shame.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueKitsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen T, Owner at Verbena Bar and Bistro, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
One of the disadvantages of having a supply contract with a major brewers is that only their beer can be sold. When I began my contract craft beers were not such an important trend, besides I was able to get the full 'Macs' range which at that time was considered craft.
With the news that Lion have bought Emersons craft brewers we should soon have a well respected craft brewery on board. Am looking forward to matching some foods to the Emersons great beers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A hidden delight”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

went to Verbena restaurant for brunch on Sunday and found space on the small back deck. Was not expecting too much as it looks like a very small cafe from the outside but it actually has two levels inside. The coffee was fresh and tasty and delivered promptly. The all day breakfast and eggs benedict took a little while to arrive as they were busy but were worth the wait. Will definitely return, so nice to find such a good place locally.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Webmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verbena Bar and Bistro also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing