We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Newmarket Inn & Suites
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
$284
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$145
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
$153
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
$139
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
$219
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Heritage Auckland(Auckland Central)
$190
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)
$134
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$122
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Fitness center
  • Free Internet
Kiwi International Hotel(Auckland Central)
$55
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveler rating
70
92
35
13
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
92
35
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat south roadtrain lineheat pumphandy locationmain roadwould stay here againminute driveroom was cleanroad noiselight sleepertwo singlesfree wifiking bedfamily roomthe ground flooreasy accesssmall kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 219 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in May 2012. The room was large and clean and probably better than expected for the price. It comprised a double bed (very comfortable) a reasonable-sized robe, large recliner chair, table with two chairs, a small desk and a kitchenette. The bathroom was clean and had plenty of towels and a hair dryer, plus soap, body wash and shampoo (but no conditioner). The (free) Wi-Fi was easy to use, fast and reliable.

Although there is a small fridge, there is no mini-bar to speak of (apart from some UHT milk) and while I didn't use any of the kitchen facilities it looked perfectly serviceable. There was a cooktop, microwave, kettle, cutlery and crockery for 2.

The staff were friendly and helpful and there is a cafe attached to the property that is quick and efficient, if a little odd. The coffee is not good.

There are a lot of motels/lodges in this part of Great South Rd. I would happily stay here again but being on a main road it is quite noisy.

Room Tip: There is no view to speak of but one of the higher number rooms (11-13 I think) might be your best bet as they are set further back from the main road so might be a little quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karyna01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSRM, Manager at Best Western Newmarket Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Thank you for letting Trip Advisor readers know that we have free wi-fi and that the rooms are large and clean – we appreciate your comments.

Just to let you and future guests know that ‘motels’ in NZ can offer a mini bar, but this usually falls under the domain of a ‘hotel’ in NZ, while we concentrate on offering rooms that can be used for a stay of a few nights or more, where you have more of the ‘at home’ facilities like kitchens and an onsite laundry for your convenience.

Note taken for the coffee also – will get the barista back for more staff training again.

Many thanks,
George
Acting Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed at the Best Western Great South Road near Newmarket for 8 nights whilst daughter was in Mercy Hospital nearby. We had an upstairs unit which comprised of a living area with a queen bed and a couch, a small /kitchen/dining area with microwave, bar size fridge, cooktop, sink & pots & pans etc, a bathroom with shower only & a very small seperate bedroom with two single beds. It did the trick for what we needed and no more. The decor was modern and clean but offered little privacy as people walk past the windows of the unit to get to their room. It also got very hot in the afternoon which would be nice in the winter, but unbearable in the summer as there is no aircon. Free off street parking (a plus for Auckland) was outside our unit on the ground floor. We were also given a code for free wifi internet during our stay and utilized the reasonably priced self-serve laundry a couple of times. We did not eat at the attached restaurant so I can't comment on this.

Overall it was good place to stay if one needed to be in this area of Auckland and offered good value for money compared to some of the other properties nearby. The cheaper motels along this strip are cheaper for a reason (they were older and a lot less appealing), and I couldn't see what the more expensive motels offered which would be worth paying extra for. We had a car but also walked into the Newmarket shopping area and to the hospital (on Mountain Road) in about 20 minutes. There are buses running into the city from outside and the Newmarket train station is within walking distance.

On a negative note, I have to say that the motorway noise goes all day & night as it is literally over the fence. It kept me awake and I took to wearing ear plugs. Also I didn't find the staff to be particularly friendly. They sat in the office and did not do anything "beyond" what was necessary. We asked that our room not be serviced daily but for clean towels be provided every couple of days. We had to chase these up every time which was frustrating and quite slack in my opinion.

But the reason we won't stay here again is down to a mix up happening when I extended our stay by a few days. The duty manager was very helpful at the time, but obviously omitted to record the extension in the computer. On the day that we were initially going to check out we were told that our room was no longer available and our only option was to move to a vastly more expensive room (or leave). The manager on this day wasn't going to budge. It didn't seem to matter that I had made arrangements, that perhaps they had made a mistake and that we had already stayed five nights and needed another three (my observation was that most people stayed only 1-3 nights). It took a rather terse, longer than necessary discussion for the manager to concede and allow us to stay in our room (I would have happily moved to another room, but refused to pay a higher rate). In circumstances like this, it is always more pleasant when management go out of their way to sort a situation without the fuss we had.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room if you have mobility issues. Some rooms front Great South Road and could be noisy.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSRM, Manager at Best Western Newmarket Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review – we really appreciate your comments and time to write this.

We are pleased that you found our rooms clean and well priced and that you liked the free parking, and yes, the upstairs rooms do have a balcony you walk past to enter all the rooms and all the main windows have sheer curtains for your privacy. We have Venetian blinds in the kitchen area for privacy in nearly all of the rooms, but we did not in the suite you were staying in – we are changing this so that you can still have light and privacy in the kitchen area as well.

We know that there was a misunderstanding about the extension of your stay as I assisted you with this, and we did not have a record of this. If this mix up was due to an error by our staff we apologise to your family. We are glad we were able to fix the situation fairly quickly and that you were able to stay on in the room you were already occupying.

Yours sincerely
George
Acting Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We visited Auckland for a few days for a friend's 70th birthday and wanted to stay near his house. There are quite a few motels on Great South Road to choose from. After booking I was warned we would hear a lot of noise from the motorway and trains but it wasn't too bad. The rooms are a bit dated and beige is the colour theme, but they were mostly clean. We had a spa room, but when I turned on the spa the residual water in the pipes was rank and horrible, so I didn't try it again. The bathroom had a lot of long black hairs in it, these appeared after cleaning too so I'm not sure whether they were from past guests or cleaning staff. The room was only cleaned twice in four days because we came back to the room before it was cleaned. I think it would be better for the hotel to clean the rooms all in the morning and not leave tham until late in the afternoon. The laundry facilities were very good. It's close to the city and there are buses and trains, although we had a car. Overall I would come back here but I think the rooms could do with some refurbishment and updating, and the cleaning be a bit more organised.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TurningLeft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSRM, Manager at Best Western Newmarket Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Thank you for letting us know you would come back and stay with us and for your comments on the décor.

There is no excuse for the hairs in your bathroom, and we apologise. We have hired extra cleaning staff to ensure we finish cleaning earlier and our cleaners are also undergoing additional cleaning training with a new senior staff member. In the last month we have just been independently assessed by the Best Western Quality Assessor and Qualmark assess the property annually as well – we hope these two independent agencies will ensure that any guest staying with us in future encounters a clean, quality environment.

Many thanks,
George
Acting Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed two nights 12th & 13th August - staff very helpful. Bed comfortable and room clean. Located on bus route. Road noise was minimal and no real disturbance.

Cons - walls on both sides not really sound proof... snorning from adjacent room kept me awake on the first night.

Room Tip: Book room without interconnecting door to adjoining room
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAC6017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We spent three nights here, and it was very pleasant. The room was comfortable, the internet worked well, the people were very friendly. The coin laundry facilities are inexpensive and convenient. The kitchen was adequately equipped, and everything worked well.

www.riderbymyside.com

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riderbymyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews