We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely outdoor setting and great staff”

Tasca - Spanish Tapas Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #172 of 2,259 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: $6 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Relaxed dining for a touch of Spanish European ambiance. Open from 9 am through to late and often in the weekend there will be live entertainment. Check the website for more info.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely outdoor setting and great staff”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were made to feel most welcome for a late morning breakfast. Had a special deal for breakfast and a glass of bubbles.....in fact they supplied two.....never mind we had them both! (did pay for the second glass tho)
Beautiful outdoor area and the food was tasty and served promptly. The staff were attentive and friendly. Would like to go back for dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrishdNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    53
    14
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good service”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We recently had a Sunday evening dinner here and were very impressed with the food - the tapas we shared were delicious, my spatchcock chicken well cooked but not at all dry, and my husband's fish of the day (terakihi in this case) was perfectly cooked. The fish said it all really: we are keen fish eaters and often it is overcooked, even in so-called seafood restaurants, but not at Tasca. We had a coupon deal which included dessert (and it was not necessary - we had had plenty to eat), but the desserts were excellent too. The service was good, attentive without being too much so. Overall we plan to return. OK so it's not authentic Spanish and includes other influences, but it's still good food. Being Sunday night parking on the street was no problem.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great and not just for Spanish tapas”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Three of us had a reasonable dinner here and they have obviously upgraded the service looking at previous comments. There is a wide variety of menu choices and I had an Istanbul Street Pizza which was great. Wine list was excellent even by the glass. Was slightly expensive I felt for a casual night out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smackinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not living up to the Dominion Road franchise's performance!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Me and my girlfriend went here for the morning after the night before treat breakfast...I picked it as when I very first arrived in NZ, the Tasca at Dominion Road was a fave haunt of mine...great service, food and coffee with friendly staff.

Sadly the Vulcan Lane experience couldn't have been more different, and lost me my restaurant-choosing rights with the missis!!!

The service was poor (food brought by kitchen hand, we asked for cutlery too and instead of fetching it, he wandered over to the waitress who was stood where the cutlery was and rather than just bringing it himself - he had to walk back past our table to get back into the kitchen - he asked her to fetch it...maybe they're really unionised in there?!)

The food was not good - over cooked eggs, bacon which was clearly not from a happy pig, and coffee which was pretty umentionable. We asked or double shot flat whites an they looked more like over-milky ditchwater. they did replace the coffee FoC but even with a triple shot it was an insipid brew.

Can not recommend and will not be returning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matttj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food was ok but the service was shocking”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

From the outside the place looks very appealing. The house soup was wholesome and whilst not Spanish, quite tasty. Service was appalling. We sat down and after awhile the waiter plonked our water bottle on the table and glasses on the table. He did not bother pouring them. I then ordered sparkling wine and he came back with another one and said it was the same as the one that I had ordered which it was not. The waiter spent most of his time either speaking with a customer about India or outside on the footpath talking on his mobile. Finally we got his attention so we could order a glass of wine and some tapas after the soup. This seemed to be quite an inconvenience. The waiter then overcharged us on the bill as he had entered in the original sparkling wine on the bill instead of the one that he produced and said was the same!
Waiter needs to be trained up!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveller146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasca - Spanish Tapas Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Tasca - Spanish Tapas Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing