We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To the edge of the known culinary world-New Zealand”
Review of Merediths

Merediths
Ranked #180 of 2,329 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“To the edge of the known culinary world-New Zealand”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

A somewhat dramatic title yet NZ which is so far away for many has on offer some of the most creative amazing modern day food and beverage offerings.At the cutting edge of this wonderful restaurant scene is Merediths of Auckland .The chef /owner Michael Meredith creates a style of food that takes your culinary senses on a journey few have or get the opportunity to experience.It is Michael's journey via his fixed menus of 6 or 9 courses with a optional wine marriage. He and his staff are wonderful hosts for your Meredith experience.
This journey is not for the traditional palate but for those who wish to experience food combinations prepared and presented in innovative challenging ways .
I cannot recommend strongly enough if you are travelling to NZ;have this restaurant on your list of places to experience .This my second visit which won't be my last!
Thank you Michael for creating what we experienced with you .
Terry Hilsz -Perth W.A.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hilszie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    31
    16
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Degustation extravaganza”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Everything (positive) you have heard about Merediths is true. The degustation is spectacular and the wine matches interesting, sometimes obscure and all very well matched. Allow plenty of time to savour each dish and enjoy the experience. The menu was varied, inventive and there were some spectacular flavours in this truly inventive cuisine. Will be saving up to go back for more of the same. Best of all it is walking distance to my place, thanks Michael!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Unique Flavours”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

A group of 15 of us went here to experience their 9-course degustation menu. We were in a very basic, but private room. The service was excellent, our waitress was lovely - funny and engaging. Food quality was beautiful but we thought the presentation was quite basic compared to other deguations we have tried (Euro and O'Connoll Street Bistro are better). Still, we did enjoy trying the unique ingredients on the menu. Some of our group felt there were too many unique flavours which made the dishes too polarising. I enjoyed it but I would pick the other 2 restuarants before this one if I was too return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland , New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A culinary journey though gastronomic New Zealand”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

What a fabulous culinary journey through gastronomic New Zealand.
We arrived and were warmly welcomed into this very comfortable stylish setting. The 9 course degustation started with an amuse bushe which gave the first inkling of the delights we were in for. Each course was truly Kiwi inspired... from the Waikenae crab, King Salmon, paua and smoked eel to the lamb which I swear was a miniture hangi on the plate..... well done Mr Meredith. You are true to your reputation as a New Zealand gastronome.
Superb food, wine, service and a truly New Zealand inspired adventure in taste

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnaaABPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paihia, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Most amazing dinner ever!”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had the most amazing food experience ever. Merediths has been on our wishlist and it didnt disappoint. Every single dish was outstanding. Michael Meredith is amazingly talented. Can't wait to come back again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank krave123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merediths also viewed

Mount Eden, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Merediths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing