We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Japanese in Auckland”

Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #114 of 2,272 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our team of trained Japanese chefs welcome you. Irrashaimase. We are located next to Kingsland Station, on the Western Line, just 4 stops from the Britomart Downtown Station. We are also one minute from the New North Road, "Kingsland" bus stop.You may view our illustrated menu on our website.Most of us have travelled extensively around the world, and enjoy greeting and entertaining new friends from many different countries.When you are in Auckland, come and see us. We are waiting.You'll be glad you found us on Tripadvisor!
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Amazing Japanese in Auckland”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I've been a regular visitor at Taiko every time I make it back to Auckland. Ian is a fabulous host, always accommodating, welcoming and going the extra mile to make your dinner successful. The chefs are fantastic, the food is always, without fail, exceptional. Make multiple visits and try everything on the menu! Location is great - near the train station and just a short walk up to bars on New North Rd for a drink pre or post dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaikoKingslandNZ, Owner at Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for always inviting such lovely friends Zoe. We always enjoy having your lively groups. Yes, come by train. We are right beside Kingsland station, only 5 stops(15minutes?) from Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    29
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Utterly Fabulous beyond all else”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I have wines and dined many a time at taiko! An I've ne'er ever been let down in any way shape or form. The food continues to take my taste buds to another dimention and leaves me satisfied to the brim of perfection. I love Taiko

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EREwbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaikoKingslandNZ, Owner at Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you so much. I think I remember you enjoying the Tin Pot Hut Sauvignon Blanc. Hope you can find it it the U.S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Sashimi in Auckland”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Have been to Taiko several times now and have never been disappointed. Go to Japanese restaurants a lot and have to say the Sashimi at Taiko is the best of anywhere I have been, so fresh! The owner Ian is a great host, helps out with suggestions for food choices and very friendly as are the very efficient staff, unlike some Japanese restaurants where the service and communication can be patchy. There is a good selection of interesting wines at reasonable prices. Overall excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suearl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaikoKingslandNZ, Owner at Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you. Our sustainable Big Eye Tuna and Fresh Marlborough King Salmon arrives every day. We personally browse the fish market for fresh "shiromi" for sashimi. The secret though is our sushi chef., Omura. He knows fish must be treated with care, respect and love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect host, excellent food”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Once again Ian we had a suburb meal. Loved the sashimi and spicy tentacles. Great wine with it and service very professional. Will be back soon.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaikoKingslandNZ, Owner at Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you Catherine. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful service and food!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Cheers Ian for the amazing service and food!
We always recommend your restaurant to our friends : )
Remember to shout out "Sumemasen" when you want to order more food!
Love, Kristin & Phill : )

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phillip Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaikoKingslandNZ, Owner at Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thanks a lot!. Always a pleasure to have you in. Yes, we encourage people to call out when you need service. It's the Japanese "Izakaya" way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing