We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never let's you down”

Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #119 of 2,259 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our team of trained Japanese chefs welcome you. Irrashaimase. We are located next to Kingsland Station, on the Western Line, just 4 stops from the Britomart Downtown Station. We are also one minute from the New North Road, "Kingsland" bus stop.You may view our illustrated menu on our website.Most of us have travelled extensively around the world, and enjoy greeting and entertaining new friends from many different countries.When you are in Auckland, come and see us. We are waiting.You'll be glad you found us on Tripadvisor!
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never let's you down”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have been going to Taiko for the last three years and it is an amazing restaurant. The service is always superb and the food even better. Huge credit to the owner Ian who makes you want to return! 5 star rating, relaxed atmosphere. Well worth a visit

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WendyOswald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaikoKingslandNZ, Owner at Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you Wendy. What a nice review. It's always a pleasure and we truly appreciate the support! See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    28
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food, service and atmosphere with the added bonus of a good price!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I've been to Taiko for every occasion, as a couple, a family outing, with large groups of friends, or even to impress people I work with! Taiko caters to anything you need. A small intimate meal with my boyfriend next to a candle lit dinner? Check. A small family reunion to catch up on each others lives and have a good laugh? Check. A good filling meal out with a bunch of friends to get the night started before we hit the clubs? Check!!
The last trip to Taiko was with my Thai boyfriend. We went to NZ for a month, which was the first time for him. Of course, I took him to Taiko. All he could say was "อร่อย มาก!!!" (ridiculously delicious!!)
Taiko truly caters to anything and everything you need! If I ever want to take someone out for a good night in Auckland, Taiko is the first stop to get the night started. Love this place and I recommend it to all!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxannejk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaikoKingslandNZ, Owner at Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Sawasdee Krup! Thank you so much for taking time to write such a thoughtful review. We are glad to hear your Thai boyfriend loved the food. I thought it might not be spicy enough. We look forward to seeing you next time you return from Thailand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Beer!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

One of my favourite things about Taiko is the huge Asahi cans. Having lived in Japan it was a pleasant surprise. Really enjoyed chatting to Ian the owner as I imbibed. Recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonAtMosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaikoKingslandNZ, Owner at Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Yes. Those Asahi cans are a huge hit. Especially on game nights when we cater to groups before and after the rugby at Eden Park! Sometimes every customer is drinking Asahi from the big cans. It's something to see!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
2 reviews
“Simply Amazing”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I just love love love this restaurant, every year we celebrate a joint birthday here with family and friend and come on our own quite often too. Excellent service, friendly, attentive, helpful and just darn right nice people. The food is incredible, best steak in town. We went as a group once and a banquet was created for us, it was 10 courses that were all a surprise and I loved them all. Keep up the great work Taiko...see you again soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizziehart2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaikoKingslandNZ, Owner at Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you Lizzie. Yes, we love being the birthday venue. It's an amazing feeling to think we are part of so many important family occasions. Thank you for the lovely review. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Delicious food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Taiko is by far my favourite reasturant. The staff are really friendly and Ian always greats us by name (this makes a difference, not just another diner) The food is amazing, have never had a bad meal here and we dine often. The atmosphere is great, I could rave on and on about how amazing this place is but pop on in and experience it for yourself.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaikoKingslandNZ, Owner at Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind review Amanda. We truly appreciate your friendly support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Taiko Japanese Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing