We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a enjoyable meal”

De Post Belgian Beer Cafe
Ranked #503 of 2,327 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: Belgian, European, Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: De Post Belgian Beer Cafe, located in the heart of Mt Eden offers a fantastic menu including mussel pots and platters, hearty pub fare and a great range of desserts. The atmosphere is lively and welcoming and the sunny upstairs outdoor deck area a perfect spot to enjoy the wide range of fine Belgian beers any time of the year. Special functions and parties work well at De Post Belgian Beer Cafe as the venue includes two separate bar areas plus a dedicated functions room. Contact 0800 FUNCTION for more information about booking a function at De Post.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great place for a enjoyable meal”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was our first time back to De Post in a very long time, the food was great, my husband loved the mussels with coconut cream and I really liked my Crepes, the meals were generous and good value, the atmosphere although noisy was fun and comfortable, we all had a great time. The service was great and we will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahJohn34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    64
    26
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra Australia
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
“Nice place for Sunday brunch”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

It was deserted when we got there at 1030sh for a Sunday brunch but filled up quickly after 11. Great atmosphere and nice meal. Loved the atmosphere and location. The Belgium breakkie is huge - enough for 2 really. Good coffee

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DRMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimate, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place formerly old Post office..”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very good beer according to my other half.. the bread & dips plate was generous.. only downside is the lighting when trying to read the menu ...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank k1w1Spirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauanui, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Affordable meals at an interesting venue”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We went to De Post, Mt Eden with a group of friends. It was an interesting old building with good atmosphere. We had lunch, there was a good range of food on the menu at affordable prices. The service from our waitress was excellent. Good place to go for an informal lunch to catch up with old friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GulfHarbourBadgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mid Winter Dinner”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We went to De Post Restaurant for a staff mid winter dinner. Overall our visit here was good and all the members of the party agreed that the food was really enjoyable. A few downsides were that the food took a long time to come. Admitedly there were 13 if us, but the place was not that full. There happened to be a speaker above our heads so at times the music drowned out conversation. I am not sure if I would return if I had a hoice

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roborhodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Post Belgian Beer Cafe also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland Region, North Island
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Mount Eden, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to De Post Belgian Beer Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing