We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting for a leisurely lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Long Bay Restaurant - CLOSED

Long Bay Restaurant
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely setting for a leisurely lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Thank goodness we thought to book before departing for Long Bay! This is a busy place in the weekends, so do book otherwise you could be disappointed. Great place to take families. Service is okay, food is good, only disappointment is that it isn't a large selection to choose from. The setting is lovely, right on the beach, although if it is a windy day you may want to sit inside or in the covered area outside. We have been a few times and will probably go again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Gorgeous location, fabulous food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We took my husband out for Fathers Day lunch and wanted to try somewhere new. We drove out to Long Bay Regional Park (approx 30mins from Auckland) to go to the restaurant in the park. Positioned right on the each, you couldn't ask for a more beautiful spot. It was really windy so we sat inside by the cosy fire. The staff are lovely, very friendly and attentive. It caters so well for children, handing out little goodie boxes with little treats for the kids and their menu is printed on the front, very cool idea. Our food was fantastic. They had some very fine ales (which pleased my husband!) and great coffee. We were never rushed and it had a lovely buzzy atmosphere. A nice walk along the beach ended things really nicely. Can't wait to go back, especially in the Summer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauanui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What a lovely location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Right on the beach, this is a great restaurant. Food is great and service is good. Great summer place, can be a bit windy in winter!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank GulfHarbourBadgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“wow wow wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

There really is nothing like it - beautiful long beach, light breeze in the air, glass of red wine - amazing food...we had our wedding reception here 15years ago, and it continues to be my ultimate favourite. You can go dressed up or tidy casual, and in the summer come in your shorts straight off the beach and have a drink - absolutely wonderful!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 67arda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

LBay restaurant position in the Regional park is beautiful: the beach and park are gorgeous! New food menu is so yummy: we had pork belly , mezzes starters, soup..and main course of salmon or eye fillet or lamb warm salad deliciously prepared and served ! it is good you could go for a walk on the beach or swim after! not to mention the dessert: I had Tiramisu and was good, lemon tart was a little disappointing as it had flavor and not fresh lemon..

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kenneth13_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long Bay Restaurant also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing