We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kura Japanese Sake Bar

Kura Japanese Sake Bar
Ranked #198 of 2,201 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Kura is modern fusion Japanese. We do all the favourites like sushi, tempura and teriyaki but sometimes with a little twist.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We always come here after any 6.30 shows at the Q Theatre near by. Ten women roll in at 9 o'clock and the service and food could not be better. However, what always amazes us - and we come here at least four times a year as a group and randomly at other times, is how reasonably priced our meal is. We order up large plus a couple of big cans of lovely cold beer and we never pay more than $30 each. We leave feeling well fed but not heavy - it is a must if you are in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FastHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    29
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great dinner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We popped in for dinner after a show at Q theatre. Was the perfect location as Kura is right downstairs.
We had pre booked online and our table was waiting for us.
Service was a bit slow but it was a busy Friday evening so that was expected.
Food as usual was beautiful! Great presentation.
There was quite a few items form the menu that were already sold out which was quite dissapointing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tesh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Above average food & service below ground!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great service - quick and friendly. Tasty Japanese food with the usual menu offerings. We love it and will be back...again!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjszea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
253 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A real find. Good service, food and environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

It is quite deceiving from the front, really opens up when you go down the stairs. We went before a show and the waitress checked when we would needed to be out by. The food was really enjoyable. The sashimi fresh and perfectly sliced, the soft shell crab tempura tasty, and we really enjoyed the scallops and prawns. The waitress was helpful in assisting with our choice of sake. I would stress though it is wise to book as this place gets very busy on a Saturday night particularly when the Comedy Festival is on

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jackirmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Went before a show at the civic. They have a great touch of asking if you need to leave by a certain time - and make sure that all your dishes arrive well in advance of the time you need to leave. The food was delicious - in particular the crispy crab. We will definitely be back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kura Japanese Sake Bar also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland Region, North Island
 

Been to Kura Japanese Sake Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing