We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Parnell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parnell Inn
Ranked #44 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

We stayed here on our last night in NZ and found it to be in a very nice area and the main city area is within walkable distance, although there is a bit of a hill to get back to the motel!. We picked this motel as it had free parking and it was a good price. The room was nice and well presented and it had a clean bathroom. The staff were very friendly and helpful. For a city I would say this motel was good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaineyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    65
    27
    5
    10
See reviews for
21
57
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2009

Stayed here with my boyfriend. We got there much earlier than expected but our room was ready so we were allowed to check in at 9 without any extra charge. Very much appreciated after such a long flight. Owners were really friendly and helpful. The location was great. Lots of lovely restaurants in the area. About a 20 minute walk from the harbour.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji
Level Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

The room was very basic, but it had a mini-fridge and cable tv. NZ$85. a night with no view. Had the feel of a converted university dorm. About a ten minute bus ride into downtown Auckland. Bus stop really close, and regular service. Seemed like a nice area at night. Nice restaurants and shops directly across the street. A small corner market walking distance up the street. For the price, I thought it was a really nice place to stay. Free newspaper delivered to door upon request. Would stay here again if traveling to Auckland.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroad2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2009

We stayed one night in early January in an executive room with a queen bed. It was a good size, clean, comfortable and quiet. Our windows had a view down the hill and into the distance, full of colourful, blossoming trees. The Inn is situated on a cafe- and restaurant-lined street so we were spoiled for choice for our morning coffees (enjoyed in the sunshine with our newspaper from the Inn), breakfast and dinner. The hostess at the Inn was very friendly and helpful. We also appreciated the guest parking lot in the back.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in early December. We paid 95 NZD a night for a standard double room, and we thought it was a decent value. It had everything we needed, very clean, and has a small TV. Even has free parking but we didnt use it. It was a little bit of a walk to the downtown area but not bad. There were quite a few restaurants around which was good but we did not find an internet cafe closeby (though we might have missed them). Staff was very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug_407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2009

The Parnell Inn is an excellent spot to spend a few days in Auckland. It's in the heart of the Parnell neighborhood which is a cute neighborhood filled with antique stores, bookstores, and numerous restaurants and cafes. It's about 10 minutes walking distance from the Auckland Museum and 20 minutes walk downtown. Auckland in general is a very walkable city with lots to look at along the way.

We opted for the standard room which others have said is too small but we found it perfectly comfortable. I've definitely stayed in small rooms in NZ and elsewhere. The bathroom was a bit tired but very clean.

The best part of the hotel was the friendly hotel staff. Ever helpful and welcoming, we were sad to say goodbye. Unfortunately, we never got to try the in-house restaurant because they are closed for breakfast on weekdays. Their menu (and french toast) looked delicious!

If you plan on doing laundry at the hotel, keep in mind they only have cold water washings available.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciaoamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manawatu
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2008

Our family of four had a great time at the Parnell Inn. We were in the family unit which was spacious with a well designed layout and a well equipped kitchen and separate bathroom. It did not get a lot of sun however this was not required as we were out during the day. Location was better than perfect being right in the middle of Parnell, Host and Hostess were wonderful, the unit was very clean with very friendly staff. The parking was handy (and free) and we loved the little extra's when we arrived. We would not hesitate to recommend or return - this was certainly good value.

  • Liked — Location and value for money.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzzibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Parnell
Quest Parnell
#23 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
#33 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Surrey Hotel
The Surrey Hotel
#43 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parnell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parnell Inn

Property: Parnell Inn
Address: 320 Parnell Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parnell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parnell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parnell Hotel Parnell
Parnell Hotel Auckland
Parnell Motel Auckland
Parnell Inn Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing