We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“views to die for! Dinner and breakfast fab!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fish

Fish
Ranked #53 of 2,201 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located on the first floor of the Hilton Auckland, FISH brings to life a new partnership between the world renowned Hilton brand and the expertise of the Nourish Group of restaurants headed in the kitchen by Gareth Stewart.Restaurant Head Chef Fraser Shenton and Restaurant Manager Arthur Sylos lead the team of FISH with the knowledge and experience gathered working in international and national top eateries. FISH is about bringing the best New Zealand produce to the table in the best location right on the waterfront.
hamiton new zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“views to die for! Dinner and breakfast fab!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

10/10. Had dessert and breakfast there. Both times the views and the food were fantastic!
Loved it and will go back

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank donnazart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskar Z, General Manager at Fish, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
donnazart I am glad you had a delightful dessert at FISH while capitalizing on our fantastic views, and it would be great to have you back again to explore our full a'la carte menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    115
    47
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All Credit to Crew of Fish at the Hilton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Fish continues to impress for excellent cuisine, service and of course location. Our party are a critical and discerning bunch of Kiwis - out for a great night - and we were not disappointed. (Kim Dotcom, Bomber Bradbury and Internet Mana team at the adjacent table appeared to be very contented and relaxed diners on the night).
We selected from the premium A La Carte menu. To start, both the caesar salad, and the potato and gorgonzola soup were exquisitely prepared and presented - beautifully crafted - fresh and nutritious. Meals in themselves. Catch of the day, bluenose on olive oil potatoes, wilted spinach, rosemary and garlic was delectable - wonderful flavours and textures. The barrel cut eye fillet was also a sensation - succulent, tender - cooked perfectly to order. The dessert menu was comprehensive rich and decadent. We always find it hard to go past local fruits in season (almost). Buttermilk panna cotta earl grey poached figs with hazelnut biscotti were a fitting end to a highly appealing and nourishing dinner in a warm and comfortable setting. $260 for two all up.
Congrats to Shane and the crew. And special mention to Oliver and other waitstaff on the night for faultless service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jaboticabaKerikeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskar Z, General Manager at Fish, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you aboticabaKerikeri for writing such a warm and amazing review!

It really does make a difference to us here to hear such kind words - both regarding Shane's excellent cooking and the service we provide -, and I do hope you will be back soon for our summer at FISH.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is our second vsit for a degustation lunch. Menu was Mussel Tio Pepe cappuccino - fantastic. Pepper cured kingfish, Mushroom & Spelt risotto - absolutely superb. Pepper rubbed venison loin- parsnip puree/roasted carrot and courgett/orange citrus jus, was a stunning dish. Dessert was one of my favourites, buttermilk pannacott/earl grey poached figs which were divine, hazelnut biscotti,vanilla ice cream. It was a very pleasant lunch washed down with a bottle of Dog Point Sav. Blanc. We had a window seat and was great watching the boats out on a very choppy sea - lovely and warm inside. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The restaurant was not very busy but most enjoyable. Would have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant for a pleasant way to spend an afternoon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskar Z, General Manager at Fish, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you Gill B for your very nice words about your GrabOne experience here at FISH!

It's great to hear about returning customers who like our special degustation menu, and lunch is really a fantastic time to have it - getting to have the outside area available and taking full advantage of it is definitely one of our best features.

I look forward to seeing you some time in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stunning views with food to match!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Went to Fish on a Grab One Degustation offer for 4 ppl and we loved it. The fish cappuccino was the perfect start but the Kingfish cerviche was the highlight. I had the salmon as my main and although I enjoyed it, I found it a little salty. The creme brûlée to finish was moreish and given the fullness of my tummy I was surprised I could finish it. The views are spectacular and service attentive.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mccracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskar Z, General Manager at Fish, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
I am so glad to hear that you found FISH's GrabOne Degustation dinner such a wonderful experience, Mccracks!

Shane has put a lot of time in to bringing that menu together, and it really shows when reviews such as these show the appreciation for it.

It would be great to have you come back again, and perhaps try out our a la carte menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The days with and the days ago without”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

The fish are well presented and cooked with point. And it is a Frenchwoman who writes it!
But the latency is long. It is possible that it either so that the customer orders another wine bottle to spend time.
If the luxury is liked, why not but there is as well for less expensive in NZ.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JeanneDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskar Z, General Manager at Fish, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
JeanneDL, It is very nice to hear such feedback about the food that our Chefs put out and that you enjoyed your meal - with all of your culinary background to bring weight behind your words!

I do understand the displeasure of sometimes having your food take a period of time to come out, as we do try to make sure every dish is the best it can be, before it leaves the kitchen and arrives on your table for you to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing