We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prefect place for a special occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fish

Fish
Ranked #52 of 2,231 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located on the first floor of the Hilton Auckland, FISH brings to life a new partnership between the world renowned Hilton brand and the expertise of the Nourish Group of restaurants headed in the kitchen by Gareth Stewart.Restaurant Head Chef Fraser Shenton and Restaurant Manager Arthur Sylos lead the team of FISH with the knowledge and experience gathered working in international and national top eateries. FISH is about bringing the best New Zealand produce to the table in the best location right on the waterfront.
auckland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Prefect place for a special occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

My husband took me to fish last night for a birthday dinner.

I loved the place. Beautiful view right on the water front, the staff were welcoming. Our waiter was awesome, he was friendly with a great sense of humor and informative without taking up too
Much time.

We had a breads dish to start which was yummy.

I had the catch of the day which was lovely and my husband had a whole snapper which he polished off.

We decided we were far to full for dessert , however the staff bought me out a cute plate with happy birthday written in chocolate and yummy little dark chocolate balls rolled in nuts.

We paid $133 for one entree two mains and two drinks.

Amazing food, great service, great view.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saraandray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    116
    49
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

What a brilliant meal we had in this restaurant. The food was amazing and the service to match. A whole grilled cod was the special and I am delighted that I chose it. An enchanting dessert with liquid nitrogen freezing up cream and fruit. That was a display worth watching and taste did not disappoint.
The wait staff were knowledgable and could give suggestions on the best wines which is helpful for tourists.
The view needs to be seen

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aussies27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
433 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Fantastic - wonderful view and food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Some of the best seafood (and service) we've encountered anywhere. Very personable staff and inventive seafood cuisine. Very extensive wine offerings too.... massive wine list with nice offerings at range of prices. We tried it for breakfast buffet (amazing) as well as for Lunch and Dinner and were not disappointed. Wait staff very attentive and able to answer detailed questions re. offerings. This is a place to sit outside on the broad terrace, take some time and have a great meal with friends! HIGHEST recommendation.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank J H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything we expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

What a great choice and a nice way to end our trip back to NZ. Dinned with our friends from Perth who are very much foodies and wine lovers. Great selection of wine and started with some champagne. Nice to see a waitress pour correctly and in order. Had a wonder entree and most of us had the special bluenose and also the whole fish special which was blue cod. Cooked to perfection. Had rice pudding and an interesting desert where the chef came out and cooked it in front of us. What a display... Worth an order just to watch how it is done. A great desert wine to finish. Great views!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabethj73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGuy2, Manager at Fish, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hi Elizabeth,

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent dinner with us. It was great to read that you enjoyed Shane's summer menu, and that the Nitro dessert was a big hit!

Looking forward to having you dine with us next time you are in Auckland.

Warm regards,

Vincent Rey - Restaurant Manager
vincent.rey@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Went to Fish last night for the first time. We were warmly welcomed on arrival, and the high level of service continued through the night. Wait staff were attentive without being intrusive, and very knowledgeable about the menu.
The food was superb, with Gault's influence clearly evident. Great ingredients cooked to perfection - sophisticated without being pretentious.
The restaurant itself if well laid out, and makes the most of the stunning harbour views.
We will definitely be back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matthew61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing