We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fish

Fish
Ranked #52 of 2,200 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located on the first floor of the Hilton Auckland, FISH brings to life a new partnership between the world renowned Hilton brand and the expertise of the Nourish Group of restaurants headed in the kitchen by Gareth Stewart.Restaurant Head Chef Fraser Shenton and Restaurant Manager Arthur Sylos lead the team of FISH with the knowledge and experience gathered working in international and national top eateries. FISH is about bringing the best New Zealand produce to the table in the best location right on the waterfront.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

As we were leaving NZ in a couple of days we decided that we would like to have a "farewell" meal. We were unsure of where to go as we did not want to be too far away from the ferry terminal.

This has to have been one of the best meals that we have had.

Our waitress (Aimee) could not have been more helpful with explaining the different dishes to us and making some recommendations. She also gave us some "taster" glasses of wine so that we could decide which ones to have with our meal - and we feel that we made the right choices.

It is quite refreshing to find a chef who can take good quality ingredients and cook them simply and produce an excellent dish.

Don't be put off by the name - the do serve other things than fish, the steaks are out of this world.

If I was to have one criticism then it would have to be about the maitre 'd - I consider somewhat unprofessional for him to stand with his hand in his pocket when talking to diners at a table.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireDavid63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    115
    47
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Imperial Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
148 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good fish - wonderful view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

One would think that eating in a Hilton Hotel would be overpriced. That's NOT the case at "Fish". Reasonable prices for GREAT food. The Green Lip mussels, especially, were just super. Emilie, our waitress was the kind of service person you'd want anywhere: Knowledgeable, personable, and quick to serve. Save room for their "frozen" dessert - you probably have never seen strawberry ice cream prepared at your table, right? Have your videocam ready! Oh yes, their wine list is truly well-rounded. We tried "Dog Point" sauvignon blanc - spectacular (and much less expensive than "Cloudy Bay"). We ate at Fish several times for breakfast and dinner during our 4-day stay at the Hilton. Great food + great view = a "10"!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank realpep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not impressed from go to woe”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I won't waste too much time with this review but... only one of us had a view, noisy locals, not a great atmosphere, tide was out in wine glasses, ordered 6 but received 12 oysters, sent them back and received 6 with no thanks for pointing out their error, meals arrived together but one but fish so undercooked it was raw and cold in centre and by the time it was recooked my partner had finished his meal. Won't be back that's for sure!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brisbanefirstimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGuy2, Manager at Fish, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to read that your dining experience did not live up to expectations. Here at Fish restaurant we are committed to doing our very best for all our guests, but in this case it appears that elements of your experience were not up to scratch.

Your feedback will help us give all our guests a great experience, and I would be happy to hear from you personally at 09 978 2041 to discuss your comments in further detail.
(email :- vincent.rey@hilton.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Lovely view of the harbour from our table, excellent wine, food, service. Would recommend for that special dinner. Will be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great view and a leisurely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

The roasted chicken was excellent. The serving size of my dinner was just right. I did notice some diners had very small servings and it looked like ordering sides would be necessary. The view is really special and it is easy to talk and relax.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nipowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing