We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tony's Lord Nelson Restaurant

Tony's Lord Nelson Restaurant
Ranked #77 of 2,200 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: New Zealand, Steakhouse, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stumbled across this restaurant by accident! We had been down by Princes wharf when a Tall ship called Lord Nelson came into port, coincidence? Anyway onto the place itself. We shown to our booth by a delightful young lady who couldn't have been more helpful helping us to choose the wine and of course the food! It was delicious and a really ample serving! No room for a sweet! Anyhow if your in Auckland seek it out!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    100
    26
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Awesome first night dinner in Auckland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We chanced upon this restaurant and made a reservation for dinner that night at 830pm.

When we arrived, we were shown to our booth and service by a french young lady was immaculate. We ordered steak, seafood platter and ribs to share among the 3 of us. The food arrived very quickly and hot.

All of our dishes were well executed and service was great. The waitress told us not to order a 4th dish as the portions were big and we really appreciated her help. We could barely finish our dinner and each dish was delicious and a lot!

Come here for your dinner, you will not regret it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianópolis, SC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Awsome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

From the simpler item to the most sophysticated at the menu they are just all really good!
Staff are great!
I just love it!!
Super recommend!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Campechehostel0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“great steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I like my steak very rare it came as I had asked for it was delicious. My husband's steak was equally delivered as he likes it. I like the atmosphere in this place the booth tables are very cosy and private thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience. The staff were very welcoming you are welcomed warmly the potato croquettes and we always visit when in Auckland

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sun soul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“LAMB, LAMB, LAMB!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

if you're looking for a great lamb rack or chops, you won't be disappointed!! the rack was cooked to perfection, and the sauce was delicious. the chops matched perfectly with the mint sauce.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Armando C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony's Lord Nelson Restaurant also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Tony's Lord Nelson Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing