We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Late night Sunday option” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tony's Lord Nelson Restaurant

Tony's Lord Nelson Restaurant
Ranked #78 of 2,198 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: New Zealand, Steakhouse, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
274 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Late night Sunday option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stumbled across Tony's when looking for a post 8pm option on Sunday night. A steak specialist, which it does well, but not what you'd call top of class. Really good service, small but serviceable wine list, and the steaks are good. A touch pricey for Auckland.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StewWoodend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    99
    26
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
1 review
“Best Steaks in Auckland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Tonys Lord Nelson in Victoria Street is just superb, If you have a hankering for yummy tasty steak, the best ever in the world. Never have we been disappointed in the quality this restaurant has to offer. Choice in cooked vegetables, or salad & fries and other tasty varieties of meat suited us both down to the ground. Excellent friendly service by a beautiful Maori lass made our night.on 21 June
Such a treat recuperating after a operation.. Strongly recommend this fantastic Steak restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pammie747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

If you are like us and looking for a great steak, then look no further. Tony's Lord Nelson is just what you are looking for, it reminds me on an old style English tavern. The atmosphere is warm and very hospitable. We were made to feel very welcome. We ordered a variety of different foods being a party of eight (four children and four adults). Our party chose, the lamb medallions, satay combination, rib eye, children's steak, venison and chicken tender loins. Portion sizes are generous and the taste of all meals was divine. Sadly one dish was found to be tough and on reporting this to our waitress we were more than compensated beyond our expectations. The drink list is extensive and very accommodating. Price, well we as Australians find the meal prices about 20% more than what we pay at home but portion sizes and quality of the food certainly makes up for the difference. I would recommend stopping on by this restaurant, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bribrendy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food, though a bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you're looking for higher-quality fare in the warren that is downtown Auckland, this place is a good one to try. The food is rather pricey but tasty nonetheless, and they have a nice selection of "other" meats such as venison, ox, and even lamb brain.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank croctad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Looking for a great restaurant with top quality food & atmosphere - then check out this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Felt like we'd stepped back in time & expected King George to saunter in through the front door!!
Our steaks were perfectly cooked to our liking & the chicken was amazingly tender. Being on holidays we decided to go all out & had dessert too .... Totally delectable lemon curd tart served with hokey pokey ice cream & cream.....yummo!! Coffee was good too!!
The only downside was that they didn't have the first 2 bottles of wine we selected from the wine list.
$174 for 3 totally delicious mains, 3 desserts, 1 bottle of wine & a coffee - can't complain about that!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizzyloo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony's Lord Nelson Restaurant also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Tony's Lord Nelson Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing