We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really poor with touches of indifference”

Tony's The Original Restaurant
Ranked #46 of 2,311 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Really poor with touches of indifference”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The waiting staff were more interested in chatting between themselves than serving or attending the tables.
The food was only just passable, and on the cold side and the "style" of cooking was a mish-mash that for us didn't really work.
We were given a token for a free beer but I doubt we will try it again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brycephillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    179
    53
    31
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burton-on-Trent
Level 6 Contributor
688 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Great steak house”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We met some fellow travellers in our hotel who advised us to go to this restaurant. We were most impressed with the friendly welcome and the interesting seating arrangements (we were in a little booth). The service was brilliant - friendly and efficient. The food was absolutely lovely - my steak was done exactly as I like it, and it was mouth-wateringly good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GerMar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decent steak and atmosphere”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Went for lunch and had a decent rump steak served with fries and salad. Service good and helpful. Good value for the 16 bucks. Would liked to have tried the 33 buck filet steaks but wasn't hungry enough! Worth a visit with friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warwick John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you!!!!!!!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We are frequent diners at Tony's. we have never had a bad meal and the food is abundant. The steaks are Devine, no matter what the cut! Being from other parts if the world my partner and i miss greatly the range if BBQ steak restaurants available. but finally we feel a bit of home. The meals are always super fresh and on the table very quick. The staff while always busy are always happy to say hello or give a big smile.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelingtoddlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just Ordinary”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Tony's was kind enough to give us a table on Valentine's Day, we had not planned ahead having just arrived in NZ. The food was OK, the service a little slow but friendly. Overall a decent Steak House meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony's The Original Restaurant also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Tony's The Original Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing