We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best culinary experience ever in New Zealand, highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grove

The Grove
Ranked #3 of 2,201 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best culinary experience ever in New Zealand, highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Went here with my girlfriend and her parents for her 20th birthday. From the moment we walked in, the service was flawless with outstanding wait staff. They were not only attentive but also had such an attention to detail with timing of asking us for drinks and various courses. The food was both plated beautifully as well as offering a wide array of sensory sensations on the palate.

A very memorable experience, not just because of the purpose of the celebration but because of the experience as a whole. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hamisheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    851
    131
    47
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing degustation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and I were recently in Auckland for the weekend. We eat out a lot in Sydney, like our food and wine, and are not easily impressed. On the recommendation of one of my husband's colleagues, we booked dinner at The Grove. What an excellent decision that was! We chose the degustation menu with matched wines. We simply could not fault any part of the evening, from the food to the wine to the service. It really was exceptional.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Magical”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

I had booked for 6 people which turned into 7, the staff were immediately onto it with no problems. We have visited several times but it had been a while since our last visit where we found the place to be noisy, they have improved this, our table was rather noisy any way that night. The service was very impressive and the food even better, beautifully presented and delightful. Small proportions but very filling. I will most defiantly be taking my clients back there. Do try it out, wonderful evening had by all.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Blanche C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Owner at The Grove, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you Blanche, for taking the time to share your thoughts on your evening with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself and that you have noticed our efforts to continually improve our offerings and environment. We very much look forward to having you and your clients back and do make sure, if you are bringing some business associates in for lunch, that you ask about our new business lunch menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
“A sensational fine dinning experience involving all your senses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

My husband and I visited Auckland for the first time In April 2014. We are great cooks and eat out a lot in many different locations worldwide. The night before leaving I typed into my search engine "the top 10 restaurants in Auckland"and read a a few reviews on The Grove. It looked impressive but I did not take any details of where it was. Arriving in Auckland the next day and after a walk around the harbour we decided to head out for dinner. In passing we walked passed The Grove and decided to have dinner here. What an enjoyable experience it was! Firstly the staff. So polite and attentive. Took care of our coats and jackets. The decor is, simple, old world building with clean cut modern furnishings retaining an old world charm. Dim lighting and comfortable seating. The menu: great selection of a la carte that appears to have been thought through to fit in with the season and what is in season. When each course arrived it was simply beautifully presented to excite your eyes and titillate the palate. The tastes, textures and flavors all worked well. Everything on the plate had its place and needed to be there. This continued with each course. We dined for about 3 hours in a restaurant that was full for a Thursday night, but we were never rushed. The staff were always there to fill our glasses and answer our questions but they were unobtrusive. They even gave us names of other fine dinning restaurants for the rest of our stay. When we go back to Auckland we will definitely going back to The Grove. It was the start of a delightful holiday in Auckland. Our sincere thanks to management, chef and all the staff. Dr Ashley Van Houten & Mr Angel Carrasco.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashangel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
225 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Elegant, quiet, romantic, delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Phone (09)-368-4129. Located in St. Patrick's Square, on Wyndham Street, one block west of Queen Street, near the wharf area, directly next to St Patrick's church. Elegant, simple dining room, long and narrow, two table wide, thus not noisy. The service achieved that perfect balance between attentiveness and restraint, but if invited, the staff and owners will engage you in stimulating conversation about the food, and anything else. Great bar, cocktails, wine list one of the best, after dinner liquors and wines. Great fresh fish, lamb, in-season fruits and vegetables, great desserts: try the feijoa fruit sorbet if available. They have a companion restaurant, Baduzzi ("Italian-inspired" cuisine) on the north wharf at the corner of Jellicoe Street and Fish Lane, that would also be worth checking out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GreggSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grove also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing