We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grove

The Grove
Ranked #3 of 2,201 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
212 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Well worth the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

The degustation menu was an interesting journey. Occasionally the flavours didn't work and when that happened it seemed to be a case of one ingredient too many. Despite that this was one of the better degustation menus I have experienced in Auckland. The stand out for me however was the wine matching. There was nothing ordinary or common about the wines. The wine journey was a bit of an eclectic trip around the wine growing world - someone obviously had fun putting the wine matched together and I thoroughly enjoyed following in that persons footsteps.

As you would expect the service was impeccable, as were the surroundings. Whilst not a cheap night out I left feeling that I had received good value.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank litigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    851
    131
    47
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Auckland's 2nd best restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Always good and always expensive. Often filled with suited idiots but encouragingly there were some young families there this time. Wine list is terrific. The tastes are always striking and diverse. They're good at putting a slightly different spin on food without it becoming outlandish. Service was excellent if you're into that sort of thing. As long as they don't ask how you like you're food every 5 mins and have some enthusiasm I'm happy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank linzgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing customer service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Their customer service was amazing! We told them we had to get to a show by a certain time and they made sure we could fit in a main with plenty of time and even recommended specific dessert dishes we could fit in the limited time we had left. Good tasted amazing (I had their oyster, quail egg and octopus entree dish as a main) and their dessert was absolutely delicious we scoffed it down in literally 5 minutes! Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Definitely one of the top ten dining experiences I have had just wish Linda was with me! The pheasant to start was to die for, the crispy roast duck main was one of the best I have had. Finished with a late bottle vintage port and Shropshire cheese. Service and staff were impeccable.

Helpful?
Thank styaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
256 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Was it worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We have been wanting to try grove for a long time and with an event worth celebrating we made our way into town in awful weather.We had a very warm welcome a shown to a very nice table. We decided to try the extensive tasting menu together with nice bottle if wine. The surrounding are excellent with good space between tables. The service was faultless. We both had mixed reactions on the food. Most seemed to have confusing tastes ... Like they were trying to cover everything on one plate. Was it worth the money..sorry no. The French Cafe is still the place to go when you want yo experience this kind of eating. We will go back just yo try the the standard menu.

Helpful?
1 Thank kruuza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grove also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing