We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The French Cafe”
Review of The French Cafe

The French Cafe
Ranked #6 of 2,306 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The French Cafe”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We enjoyed an exquisite meal at The French Cafe the food was superb and we were treated like royalty. Great place to go when you have a very special occasion to celebrate., we were celebrating a BIG Birthday won't say the number with our adult children.

We were surprised by complimentary soup to start followed by delicious bread rolls with various gourmet butters and after enjoying a first and third choice we were then treated to a palete cleanser before our desserts arrived.

The service was the best and the quality of the food hard to beat anywhere else in Auckland.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaynz2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    945
    134
    44
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

After so much hype it must be hard for them to keep up. Birthday dinner, not as good as I was expecting. The plates are deep and the cutlery heavy so when you rest your cutlery on the plate, between mouth fulls, it slides into the food with a clank, a bit disconcerting. The seating was very uncomfortable. I tried the bench seat and then the chair my husband was sitting on, both were not good. When you are sitting for a couple of hours it is important to be comfortable. The service was good and the food enjoyable but not as fantastic as I thought it was going to be. So much competition out there with great locations, they will have to lift their game in the comfort/luxury stakes before we return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tewhau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
447 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“The tasting menu with wines is fantastic”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We had been looking forward to this evening ever since booking and were not disappointed. This restaurant deserves all the praise and high reasons it receives. The service was superb. The knowledge of the wait staff was first class but they were friendly with it (unlike some other places). We decided to splurge and go for the trading menu with matching wines. If you go for this make sure you save up because it is expensive but worth the experience. It took almost 4 hours to leisurely cruise through the 8 courses and 6 wines. The food was delicious with the pork belly and the snapper cerviche being personal highlights of the meal. Outstanding.

Helpful?
Thank CraigandTania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Kitchen”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Over 20 family members shared a truly memorable evening in the French Cafe's "Kitchen" in September 2013. A fantastic room, knowledgeable staff where nothing was too much trouble. Not even last minute food preference additions. They were professional in every dealing, from the selection of the wines through to the food and food preferences.
I would not hesitate to recommend this venue for a special occasion.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So consistent”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Great experience - as ever! Fantastic food and professional service. Maintaining such consistency over extended time is such an achievement.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linnells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Cafe also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to The French Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing