We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So consistent”
Review of The French Cafe

The French Cafe
Ranked #4 of 2,271 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So consistent”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Great experience - as ever! Fantastic food and professional service. Maintaining such consistency over extended time is such an achievement.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linnells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    938
    134
    44
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“If you are eating out in Auckland this is a MUST!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Wow. I am so glad we went here on our recent holiday to Auckland. My husband and I have eaten at many fine-dining establishments around the world and this is certainly one of the best that we have visited. The service was brilliant and the food is amazing. We had a second and a main and found this was sufficient. We still walked away comfortably full. However I would love to go on a completely empty stomach and try the tasting menu! Definitely recommend the Quail and the Lamb. My husband had the Pork Belly and Duck and loved them both. My mouth still waters thinking about this place. Be sure to book just in case you cant get in at your desired time. We were happy to wait for a table at that was at about 9pm, there were still people walking in at this time. Dont miss out on a great experience and excellent value for money!!! Eg for the 2 of us it was about $240.00 and that included at least 3 drinks each.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SamTuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best meal in New Zealand”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Outstanding dinner. I had the tasting menu and it was superb. Service outstanding as well though I was a solo diner. The food was innovative and excellent. I recommend this restaurant highly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robw17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely hidden gem”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

had a great experience here, sitting in the sunshine with great friends with lovely food.. great outdoor dining on a fantastic warm day... awesome!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SharonAndRobBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Magnifique”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Visited the French café with friends on a girls weekend. We were not disappointed. The décor is understated and elegant The service was excellent as was the food. The staff went our of their way to ensure we had a special evening. To our surprise, the PM was also dining with us! One of the staff took us on a tour of the garden out the back. He explained the philosophy behind the quality of the food grown in their garden and sourced from elsewhere, especially the meat, which is all free range. There is a private function room out the back which looks like a fantastic venue for a special occasion. Worth the expense. Would go again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seasonedcampaigner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Cafe also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to The French Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing