We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Private Dining at the French Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The French Cafe

The French Cafe
Ranked #4 of 2,235 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
164 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Private Dining at the French Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Wow., i didn't realise New Zealand had such agreat opportunity to experience exquisite cuisine. Simon Wright produced flavours that were outstanding, comparable to the best anywhere in the world in my humble opinion. The Kingfish Cervice was to die for... The boned out Quail..wow... Puree of croissants..! Etc If you get achance to dine at the private dining room ...degustation - grab it with both hands , sell the cat and the dog and go!!! Whatever it takes... If you have aspecial event for 10 or more make this your destination... I am still excited about our dinner there. Foodie heaven.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KiwiGranNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    911
    132
    43
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
122 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Annual visit to The French Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Once again impeccable service and amazing food and wine. Top end of the market so not cheap but well worth it for a special occasion.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doc904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“service to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the leaving of the restaurant with the door being held open by the waiter the service was imaculate by all who attended to our needs.It goes without saying that the food was also of the highest quality with fantastic presentation.A great great nite.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JacqueeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
299 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“A Taste Experience Not To Be Missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

It has been years since I have been to The French Cafe but will certainly be returning soon. My wife and I took my adult son there as a birthday treat. The service was excellent and the quality and presentation of the food was as good as you would get anywhere in the world.
I have never been particularly adventurist when it comes to food but thought this was a great opportunity to try food I may not normal order. I would highly recommend what I had which was, First $20-the rabbit, Second $26- the quail, Third $45- the crispy duck, Fourth $20?- the apple toffee parfait followed by coffee; it was absolutely brilliant. The meal took a total of 2 hours and the timing between courses was close to spot on - excellent value for money. The only minor negative comment I would have was that the bottle of Riesling we had did not appear to be chilled enough for what we are used to, and when questioned they said they chill it to 12 degrees which I assume is normal, but we do like it colder.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“oh la la”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

great cafe with so much choice, yummy cakes and the savoury hot dishes make a lovely lunch. nice atmosphere and best bread in browns bay!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank katie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Cafe also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to The French Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing