We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

The Falls Restaurant & Cafe
Ranked #568 of 2,227 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Waitakere, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

As a birthday special my niece,daughter & I visited The Falls for Brunch, While the food was very good it arrived after a lengthy delay cold, The wait staff were also good but the barrister seems unable to cope under pressure, as waiting over 30minutes for coffee is unacceptable,as was his attitude when queried about the wait. also it appears that my niece did not receive the de caffenated coffee that was ordered although the waiter took it back to the barrister - she therefore developed a severe reaction which left her in bed for the rest of the day - Unfortunately despite its location & the fact I have visited many times over the years & taken many visitors, I agree that the passion seems to be gone & I will not be returning

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Norma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    28
    23
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
132 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Disapointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Falls has always been something special to us.So much so that 5 years ago we chose it as the venue for our wedding reception.
It was with disapointment we visited again recently.
No complaints about the service which was prompt and freindly.But something is missing
The glass of wine ordered with dinner should have been nice but the bottle had been open quite some time and the wine had gone vinagary.
The food was presented well but taste wise just wasn't up to it.
Price wise its central auckland type prices but just not up to it quality wise.
As an evening venue it is very much an adult eaterie.
Something just isn't quite right.-the passion has gone from the food and the place -which is pretty sad

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poindimié, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“THE BEST RESTAURANT IN WEST AUCKLAND”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Every time in need to travel in Auckland, i try to stay in West Auckland and i always have diner at 'The Falls' with my friends - The food is good, very well presented - The new chef is young but know is job perfectly - The eye fillet are wonderful, the lamb shank as well - Good wine list - good service - Tanya is the smile of the place - I also had breakfast and lunch there and was never desappointed - Parking are easy, and it's a beautiful historical building as well - If you are around west Auckland .. it is definitly the place to go !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“What a night, what food what an experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Went to the Falls for the second time, this time on a work function with about 35 people. It was just as good as the time we went with just two people. The function was catered perfectly, the staff were a delight. We had a choice of chicken or lamb shanks so my wife got one and I got the other. Both were delicious. I will definitely be returning to this place. A+++++++ on everything

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More café than fine dining”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

When it was a café the food standards were better. wasn't as impressed as I hoped I would be. quite good service though.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Privacysettings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Falls Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Henderson, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Falls Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing